York St Crux parish registers: Dates and current locations etc.
Otherwise known as Holy Cross, this church dates from 1424. The living is a rectory, in the deanery of York City. Population 827.
Deposited Registers (Borthwick Institute of Historical Research)
- Baptisms: 1540-1896
- Marriages: 1541-1880
- Burials: 1539-1851
- 1626, 1631-1637, 1639, 1642, 1661-1663, 1665-1667, 1670, 1672, 1673,1675, 1677, 1679, 1681-1872
- C 1540-1716, 1716-1872, 1872-1887;
- M 1541-1677, 1679-1837,1837-1880
Transcripts and Indexes:
- C 1540-1716; MB 1539-1678; Printed transcript with index; Yorkshire Parish Register Society (publications of) 70; Borthwick Institute of Historical Research, Yorkshire Archaeological Society
- C 1716-1837; MB 1678-1837; Printed transcript with index; Yorkshire Parish Register Society (publications of) 149; Borthwick Institute of Historical Research, Yorkshire Archaeological Society
- M 1701-1837; Index only; York Marriage Index
- M 1541-1677; Typed transcript, with index; Boyd's Marriage Index; Society of Genealogists; York Central Library
- B 1838-1851; Typed transcript, with index; Borthwick Institute of Historical Research
Please note: For an explanation of the abbreviations and the meaning of those dates which are in italics, please see the Yorkshire Parish Registers main page.
The above register information was correct when the book was published (1998). However registers may be moved from one Register Office to another. If you know that any of the above data is incorrect, please drop me a line via the link at the bottom of this page.
Yorkshire Parish Registers
and was presented to Genuki by the author:
Colin Blanshard Withers.