Hide

Hemsworth parish registers: Dates and current locations etc.

hide
Hide
Hide

The place:

A parish town, in the wapentake of Staincross, Liberty of Pontefract; 5½ miles from Pontefract, 7 from Wakefield, 9 from Barnsley, 29½ from York. Population 963. The Church is a rectory, dedicated to St. Helen, in the deanery of Doncaster.

Deposited Registers (West Yorkshire Archive Service, Wakefield)

  • Baptisms: 1654-1962
  • Marriages: 1654-1988
  • Burials: 1654-1888

Bishop's Transcripts:

  • 1601, 1603, 1604, 1606-1611, 1621, 1622, 1626-1630, 1632, 1634-1638,1640, 1641, 1661, 1662, 1664-1669, 1671, 1673-1677, 1682, 1683, 1688, 1689, 1691-1694, 1696, 1698-1716, 1718-1747, 1749-1868, 1870-1876

IGI Coverage:

  • C 1538-1812, 1813-1876;
  • M 1538-1812, 1813-1837

Transcripts and Indexes:

  1. CMB 1654-1812; Printed transcript with index; Yorkshire Parish Register Society (publications of) 79; Yorkshire Archaeological Society
  2. M 1599-1812; Typed transcript, with index; Boyd's Marriage Index; Society of Genealogists, York Central Library

Please note: For an explanation of the abbreviations and the meaning of those dates which are in italics, please see the Yorkshire Parish Registers main page.

The above register information was correct when the book was published (1998). However registers may be moved from one Register Office to another. If you know that any of the above data is incorrect, please drop me a line via the link at the bottom of this page.


The above copyright data was taken from the book
Yorkshire Parish Registers
and was presented to Genuki by the author:
Colin Blanshard Withers.