Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for Saltoun

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

Saltoun

Primary tabs

"SALTON, a parish, containing the post-office station of Salton, and the vilages of East Salton and West Salton, in the western division of Haddingtonshire. It is bounded by Pencaitland, Gladsmuir, Haddington, Bolton, Humbie, and Ormiston ... Salton is noted for having been the first place in Scotland in which pot-barley was manufactured, the first in Britain in which the weaving of hollands was established, the first in which a bleachfield of the British Linen company was formed, and one of the earliest in which a paper-mill and a starch-work were set up. It is associated also with the invention and improvement of some agricultural machines ... Population of the parish in 1831, 786; in 1861, 712." [From the Imperial Gazetteer of Scotland, edited by John Marius Wilson, 1868]
A lengthier description is available.

topup

Cemeteries

For information on monumental inscriptions in Saltoun parish, see the Bolton and Saltoun Church Home Page.

The Scottish Genealogy Society has a list of all gravestones in East Saltoun churchyard up to a recent date. This listing is unpublished and may be viewed at the society's library in Edinburgh.

Presbyterian / Unitarian
Saltoun, Church of Scotland

Churches

Presbyterian / Unitarian
Saltoun, Church of Scotland

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Saltoun area or see them printed on a map.

topup

Church History

For information on the history of the parish, see the Bolton and Saltoun Church Home Page.

topup

Church Records

The parish church (Church of Scotland) has registers dating from 1635. Old Parish Registers (before 1855) are held in the General Register Office for Scotland in Edinburgh, and copies on microfilm may be consulted in local libraries and in LDS Family History Centres around the world. Later parish registers (after 1855) are often held in the Scottish Record Office as are any records of non-conformist churches in the area (often unfilmed and unindexed, and only available there).

In his entry for the Statistical Account of Scotland (compiled 1790s, see the Statistics section of the East Lothian page for more details) the Rev. Andrew Johnston made the following comment about deficiencies in the registration of births and deaths in the parish of Saltoun in the late 18th century:

"The registers of births and burials (from whence the above average is taken) are very inaccurate and incomplete."
topup

Civil Registration

Registration of Births, Marriages and Deaths began in Scotland on 1st January 1855. For details of these and other records held at the General Register Office in Edinburgh, see the GRO tutorial.

topup

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Saltoun which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

Extracts for this parish from the 1868 National Gazetteer of Great Britain and Ireland are available.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Saltoun to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup

History

For information on the history of the parish, see the Bolton and Saltoun Church Home Page.

topup
topup

Population

Here are some figures showing the parish's population through time:
 

Year Population
1755 761
1792 830
1801 768
1831 786
1861 712
1871 647
1881 575
1891 495
topup

Statistics

For a social and economic record of the parishes of East Lothian together with considerable statistical material, see Sir John Sinclair's Statistical Account of Scotland, which was compiled in the 1790s. Follow-up works to this were the New Statistical Account (also known as the Second Statistical Account) which was prepared in the 1830s and 1840s; and more recently the Third Statistical Account which has been prepared since the Second World War.

Thanks to a joint venture between the Universities of Glasgow and Edinburgh the First and Second Statistical Accounts can now be accessed on-line at The Statistical Accounts of Scotland, 1791-1799 and 1845.