Cerrigydrudion

• Atkinson, Marian.  John Jones of Cerrigydrudion and Llangwm        Hel achau, No. 82 (October 2004), p. 14-15.
• Baron Price of Cerrigydrudion.       Hel achau, No. 103 (Rhagfyr / December 2009), p. 7-11
• Brush, Sally.  Law and order in Cerrigydrudion in the 18th century     Clwyd Historian = Hanes Bro Clwyd. No. 51 (Autumn 2003), p. 27-28
• Brush, Sally (Canon).    Cerrigydrudion 1661-1812        Thesis (Ph.D.) -- Aberystwyth University, 2008.
• Brush, Sally.   The restoration of the plaque on the Baron Price Almshouses, Cerrigydrudion   Hel achau, No. 98 (September 2008), p. 39-41.
• Brush, Sally.  Cerrigydrudion in the eighteenth century        Trafodion (Denbighshire Historical Society), Vol. 57 (2009), p. 40-49
• Canrif Capel Jerusalem Cerrigydrudion       Cerrigydrudion : Jerusalem, Eglwys Bresbyteraidd Cymru, 2000.
• Stagg, Richard.   The Ruthin and Cerrigydrudion Railway        Welsh railways archive. Vol. IV, no. 10 (November 2009), p. 231-238.

Ordnance Survey reference SH 953487.
The church, which is dedicated to St. Mary Magdalene, is believed to have been founded as early as AD 440. It was mentioned in the Norwich Taxation of 1254. It was repaired and enlarged in 1503, and restored in 1874.

The Clwyd FHS website has a photograph of the church.

Churches/Chapels on the People's Collection Wales site

• Church, Cerrigydrudion 
• Seion chapel (W), Cerrigydrudion
• Congregational chapel, Cerrigydrudion (1884)

Nonconformist Churches

"Welsh Church Commission - County of Denbigh - The Statistics of the Nonconformist Churches for 1905" lists the following nonconformist places of worship in the Civil parish of Cerrig-y-Drudion :

Parish Registers

• The following Parish Registers have been deposited at the Denbighshire Record Office, Ruthin.
  They may be viewed on microfilm at the Denbighshire and Flintshire Record Offices, and at the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth.
  These microfilms are not available elsewhere.

• Clwyd FHS has published full transcriptions of the registers (complete with indexes) for the following years :

Bishop's Transcripts

• Bishop's Transcripts for the years shown below have been deposited in the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth.
  Around the year 1951, most of the Bishop's Transcripts which had been deposited at that time were microfilmed by The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints; and the films are available on request at Family History Centres of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.
  The films may also be viewed at the Denbighshire and Flintshire Record Offices, and at the National Library of Wales.
  In general, the Bishop's Transcripts are less complete than the parish registers.

I.G.I.

• There are no official I.G.I. entries for St. Mary Magdalene, Cerrig-y-drudion.

When Civil Registration was introduced (on 1 July 1837), the parish of Cerrig-y-Drudion was assigned to the No. 1 ("Gwyddelwern") sub-district of the Corwen Registration District; which was co-extensive with the Corwen poor law Union.

In the GRO indexes to civil registration, entries for Cerrig-y-Drudion are in the format :

• Years 1837 - 1851: Corwen XXVII. nnn
• Years 1851 - 1930: Corwen 11b. nnn

(GRO index references have no relevance at the local Superintendent Registrar's Office)

Cerrig-y-Drudion - on wikipedia

Cerrigydrudion - community site

Various landscapes on the People's Collection Wales site

• Geograph
• Flickr

The transcription of the section for this parish from the National Gazetteer (1868), provided by Colin Hinson.

• Ask for a calculation of the distance from Cerrigydrudion to another place.

TAI DRAW FARM WATERWHEEL, CERRIGYDRUDION on the People's Collection Wales site

"North-East Wales Churches and Ancient Parish Boundaries" produced by Clwyd Record Office in 1994, published by Genuki with the permission of Flintshire Record Office and Denbighshire Archives

Kain, R.J.P., Oliver, R.R., Historic Parishes of England and Wales: an Electronic Map of Boundaries before 1850 with a Gazetteer and Metadata [computer file]. Colchester, Essex: History Data Service, UK Data Archive [distributor], 17 May 2001. SN: 4348.   Here is a gazetteer/finding aid plus a set of overview maps to accurately identify the position of parishes within the county.

 Map of the parish of Cerryg y Drudion in the County of Denbigh   -  on the People's Collection Wales site

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SH922505 (Lat/Lon: 53.040973, -3.609739), Cerrigydrudion which are provided by:

• OpenStreetMap
• Google Maps
• StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
• OpenStreetMap Cymru (Welsh counties only)
• Bing (was Multimap)
• Old Maps Online
• National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
• Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
• Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
• GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)

• All places within the same township/parish shown on an Openstreetmap map.
• Nearby townships/parishes shown on an Openstreetmap map.
• Nearby places shown on an Openstreetmap map.

• In 1831- the population was 1006.
• In 1901- the population was 1079.
  [ Royal Commission on the Welsh Church - October 1907]

Residents of the almshouses, Cerrigydrudion on the People's Collection Wales site

Men, women and children, together with a horse outside the Queen's Head Inn, Cerrigydrudion on the People's Collection Wales site

• Archdeacon Thomas gives the area of the parish as 14,194 acres.
  [ The History of the Diocese of St. Asaph , 1908-1913, Ven. D.R. Thomas]