St Grwst, Llanrwst

Primary tabs

This site provides historical information about churches, other places of worship and cemeteries. It has no connection with the churches themselves. For current information you will need to contact them directly.

St Grwst,
Church Street,
Llanrwst
Denbighshire

Church website

Church History

The entry for this church on the National Monuments Record of Wales (NMRW) website (Coflein).

The church was founded in the sixth century by St. Grwst, and has been on its present site since the thirteenth century. It was restored in 1884.

The Clwyd FHS website has a photograph of the church.

Church Records

Parish Registers

  • The following Parish Registers have been deposited at the Denbighshire Record Office, Ruthin.
    They may be viewed on microfilm at the Denbighshire and Flintshire Record Offices, at Conwy Archive Services, and at the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth.
    These microfilms are not available elsewhere.
Baptisms Marriages Burials
1613 - 1947 1615 - 1973 1615 - 1942
  • Clwyd FHS has published full transcriptions of the registers (complete with indexes) for the following years :
Baptisms Marriages Burials
1613 - 1812 1614 - 1812 1615 - 1812

Bishop's Transcripts

  • Bishop's Transcripts for the years shown below have been deposited in the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth.
    Around the year 1951, most of the Bishop's Transcripts which had been deposited at that time were microfilmed by the LDS; and the films are available on request at Family History Centres of the LDS.
    The films may also be viewed at the Denbighshire and Flintshire Record Offices, and at the National Library of Wales.
    In general, the Bishop's Transcripts are less complete than the parish registers.
Deposited at the National Library of Wales Microfilmed copies
1665 - 1877 1665 - 1877

I.G.I.

  • There are no official I.G.I. entries for St. Grwst, Llanrwst.

Maps

It is located at SH7974261614 (Lat/Lon 53.138066,-3.799167). You can see this on maps provided by: