"This place, which has obtained its present appellation in contradistinction to East, or Queen's Hope, was by the Welsh called "Llan-Eurgain," from the dedication of its first church to St. Eurgain, niece of St. Asaph, the second bishop of the see which from him derived its name. The parish, which is of very considerable extent, is situated on the estuary of the Dee, by which it is bounded on the north-east, and is traversed by the roads from Chester to Holyhead, and from Mold to Holywell, which cross each other near the church. .... The village, which is large, is pleasantly situated in a fertile and beautiful tract of country, abounding with finely varied and highly picturesque scenery, and is surrounded on all sides by elegant villas and handsome seats, inhabited by opulent families. .... The parish is rich in mineral treasure: coal and lead-ore have been worked here for several centuries; an extensive colliery is still carried on in the hamlet of Soughton, and several shafts are now being sunk on the Northop Hall estate, in the hamlets of Northop and Kelsterton." [A Topographical Dictionary of Wales, S. Lewis, 1834]
Northop is one of the ancient parishes of Flintshire, and originally consisted of the eight townships of Caerfallwch, Golftyn, Kelsterton, Leadbrook Major, Leadbrook Minor, Northop, Soughton (or Sychtyn) and Wepre.
In 1844, the townships of Leadbrook, Kelsterton, Golftyn and Wepre went to the newly created parish of Connah's Quay.
(In 1872, the two townships of Leadbrook were transferred from Connah's Quay to Flint.)
In 1865, part of the township of Caerfallwch went to the newly created parish of Rhydymwyn.
In 1876, the remainder of the township of Caerfallwch went to the newly created parish of Caerfallwch.