Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Huntsham

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Huntsham

"HUNTSHAM, a parish of scattered houses, 5 miles N.N.E. of Tiverton, has only 157 souls and 2930 acres of land. The Rev. E.B. Troyte, LL.D., is lord of the manor, owner of a great part of the soil, and patron and incumbent of the rectory, valued in K.B. at £10. 12s. 11d., and in 1831 at £260. He has a pleasant seat here called Huntsham House, and 49A. 2R. 14P. of glebe; but the Parsonage is in a decayed condition. The tithes were commuted in 1842 for £187 per annum. The manor was formerly held by the Stanton, Dunsland, Beare, and Lucas families, the latter of whom sold it to the Troytes. The Church is an ancient ivy mantled structure, with a tower and three bells. It has a fine old screen, and the seats have all variously carved ends, and bear the date, 1534." [From White's Devonshire Directory (1850)]

A parish in Tiverton Hundred, the Archdeaconry and the Diocese of Exeter.

Census

A local census of Huntsham, of 1860, listing housholders and household numbers, is held at the Devon Record Office (DRO 1131A/PO 5).

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Huntsham area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church Records

Parish Registers going back to 1558 are held in the Devon Record Office - for details see Parish Registers in the Devon Record Office.

Transcripts of the Parish Registers going back to 1559 are held in a special collection in the Westcountry Studies Library - for details see Parish Registers in the Devon & Cornwall Record Society's Collection.

Parish Register Transcriptions and Indexes (1559-1900), provided by David Wall of the Huntsham Scociety.

The Devon FHS publishes indexes covering (as of June 2004): Marriages 1754-1837, Burials 1750-1837 - for details see their book list.

Entered into the IGI (as of Jan 1993): Parish Church Christenings 1559-1875, and Marriages 1597-1675, 1690-1875. (These entries are in part from Bishops' Transcripts.)

An index of baptisms, marriages and burials in the parishes of Bampton, Bickleigh, Burlescombe, Calverleigh, Clayhanger, Culmstock, Halberton, Hockworthy, Holcombe Rogus, Huntsham, Loxbeare, Morebath, Petton Chapelry, Sampford Peverell, Tiverton St. Peter, Tiverton Cove, Uffculme, Uplowman, Washfield and Willand. With photographs of the churches and extracts from White’s Directory (1850) and Kelly’s Directory of Devonshire (1902), CD-ROM 064, Exeter, Devon FHS (2016). [Bampton Bapt: 1813-1838 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1814-1838; Bickleigh Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1755-1836 Bur: 1800-1837; Burlescombe Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1755-1838 Bur: 1813-1837; Calverleigh Bapt: 1813-1840 Mar: 1757-1837 Bur: 1813-1837; Clayhanger Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1754-1833 Bur: 1750-1852; Culmstock Bapt: 1813-1840 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1813-1837; Halberton Bapt: 1813-1840 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1813-1837; Hockworthy Bapt: 1813-1840 Mar: 1759-1837 Bur: 1813-1838; Holcombe Rogus Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1755-1844 Bur: 1813-1837; Huntsham Bapt: 1813-1840 Mar: 1755-1836 Bur: 1750-1838; Loxbeare Bapt: 1813-1841 Mar: 1755-1837 Bur: 1813-1983; Morebath Bapt: 1813-1840 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1800-1837; Petton Chapelry Bampton Parish Bapt: 1813-1839 Bur: 1813-1861; Sampford Peverell Bapt: 1813-1840 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1813-1837; Tiverton St Peter Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1813-1837; Tiverton Cove Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1682-1837 Bur: 1815-1837; Uffculme Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1783-1837 Bur: 1813-1837; Uplowman Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1755-1837 Bur: 1813-1837; Washfield Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1755-1837 Bur: 1800-1837; Willand Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1800-1837.]
Luxmoore, Charles F.C. (ed.) Registers of the Parish of Huntsham, 1559-1900. Exeter: William Pollard & Co. (1905). [Devon and Cornwall Record Society Library]
Sellman, R.R. Huntsham, Devon: edited transcript of parish registers to 1900, with family reconstitutions & supporting evidence. Typescript (1991) 60p. [Westcountry Studies Library - sx929.3/HUN/1559]

Description and Travel

Section on Huntsham from Samuel Lewis: A Topographical Dictionary of England (1831), provided by Mel Locki

You can see pictures of Huntsham which are provided by:

Gazetteers

The transcription of the section for this parish from the National Gazetteer (1868), provided by Colin Hinson.

Genealogy

The Online Parish Clerk scheme's representative for this parish is David Wall, who invites queries and lookup requests. (Resources: RR Sellman's transcript of Parish Register; Commercial Directories 1850s-1930s.)

History of the Troyte Family, provided by the Troyte Ringing Centre.

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Huntsham has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Huntsham to another place.

History

Greenslade, Olive L. Huntsham, Coterose Ltd. (Printer), Bampton (1981) 20 pp.
The Huntsham Book, Huntsham Society (2005) 262 pp. [Contents & Index] [The geographical scope of the book covers Huntsham Parish and neighbouring parts of Tiverton, Bampton, Hockworthy and Uplowman Parishes. The History section includes 25 pages on the Acland Troytes of Huntsham Court, while appendices include lists of clergy, teachers, tradesmen and postmasters.] [Now available on CD - enquiries to David Wall]

Occupations

Huntsham Apprentices Register - 1744-1811, Exeter, Devon Family History Society, (Booklet & PDF A236). [Foreword]

Societies

The Huntsham Society (founded in 2001) aims to: (i) explore, document, record, conserve and disseminate the local and natural history of Huntsham, (ii) create and maintain an information resource for the benefit and education of the local community, and (iii) foster interest in conservation issues. Contact: David Wall. It has published The Huntsham Book - see above under History.