Bloxholme
- The parish was in the Sleaford sub-district of the Sleaford Registration District.
- Check our Census Resource page for county-wide resources.
- The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
Census Year |
Piece No. |
| 1841 |
H.O. 107 / 629 |
| 1861 |
R.G. 9 / 2342 |
| 1871 |
R.G. 10 / 3349 |
- The Anglican parish church was dedicated to St. Mary the Virgin.
- The church dates from the Early English period.
- John de BLOXHAM, who died in 1334, was a Carmelite Friar, highly distinguished for his learning.
- Here is a photo of the church, taken by Ron Cole (who retains the copyright):

- The Anglican parish register dates from 1708.
- The Lincolnshire FHS has a Loan Library service which has the parish registers on microfiche for Baptisms from 1708 to 1812 and Marriages from 1708 to 1808.
- The LFHS has published several marriage and burial indexes for the Lafford Deanery to make your search easier.
- Check our Church Records page for county-wide resources.
- The parish was in the Sleaford sub-district of the Sleaford Registration District.
- Check our Civil Registration page for sources and background on Civil Registration which began in July, 1837.
This small village and parish are 5 miles north of Sleaford, in a rural, agricultural area. Cranwell parish lies to the west and Ruskington parish to the east. The parish covers almost 1,300 acres.
If you are planning a visit:
- By automobile, take the B1188 north out of Sleaford and turn left (west) at Dorrington to get to Bloxholme.
- See our touring page for more sources.
- Bloxholm Hall was built toward the end of the 17th century. It was enlarged and beautified in 1825.
- The manor was formerly the seat of the THORNTON family. It was purchased by the Duchess of Rutland and passed from her to Lord MANNERS.
- The Hall was unoccupied in 1900.
- The national grid reference is TF 0653.
- You'll want an Ordnance Survey "Explorer 272" map, which has 2.5 inches to the mile scale.
- See our Maps page for additional resources.
- The name is currently rendered without the trailing "e" or as "Bloxham".
| Year |
Inhabitants |
| 1801 |
81 |
| 1841 |
67 |
| 1871 |
84 |
| 1881 |
97 |
| 1891 |
114 |
| 1911 |
100 |
| 1921 |
79 |
- The children of this parish attended school at Digby.
- For more on researching school records, see our Schools Research page.
Find help, report problems, or contribute information.
[Last updated: 28-April-2012 - Louis R. Mills]