Report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Brauncewell

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Brauncewell

Cemeteries

Census

  • The parish was in the Sleaford sub-district of the Sleaford Registration District.
  • In 1891, the parish was reassigned to the Billinghay sub-district of the Sleaford Registration District.
  • Check our Census Resource page for county-wide resources.
  • The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
Census
Year
Piece No.
1861 R.G. 9 / 2342
1871 R.G. 10 / 3349
1891 R.G. 12 / 2580

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Brauncewell area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

  • The Anglican parish church is dedicated to All Saints.
  • The church was rebuilt in the early 1800s.
  • The chancel was rebuilt in 1855.
  • The church seats about 80.
  • The Diocese of Lincoln declared this church redundant in May, 1973. In October of 1978 it was gifted as a monument to the people.
  • Here is a photo of the church, taken by Ron COLE (who retains the copyright):

Brauncewell All Saints parish church

Church Records

  • The Anglican parish register dates from 1760.
  • The Lincolnshire FHS has a Loan Library service which has the parish registers on microfiche for Baptisms from 1626 to 1794 and Marriages from 1626 to 1812.
  • The LFHS has published several marriage and burial indexes for the Lafford Deanery to make your search easier.
  • Check our Church Records page for county-wide resources.

Civil Registration

  • The parish was in the Sleaford sub-district of the Sleaford Registration District.
  • In 1891, the parish was reassigned to the Billinghay sub-district of the Sleaford Registration District.
  • Check our Civil Registration page for sources and background on Civil Registration which started in July, 1837.

Description and Travel

This small village and large parish are north-west of Sleaford, in a rural, agricultural area. The parish covers about 3,500 acres, but was only 2,480 acres in 1842. The parish is often listed as "Brauncewell with Dunsby". Dunsby was formerly the parish of Dunsby St. Andrew, but had reduced in size to a mere hamlet.

If you are planning a visit:

You can see pictures of Brauncewell which are provided by:

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Brauncewell has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Brauncewell to another place.

Maps

  • The national grid reference is TF 0152.
  • You'll want an Ordnance Survey "Explorer 272" map, which has 2.5 inches to the mile scale.
  • See our "Maps" page for additional resources.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference TF013520 (Lat/Lon: 53.055644, -0.490027), Brauncewell which are provided by:

Names, Geographical

  • The name often appears as "Branswell".

Politics and Government

  • This place was an ancient parish in Lincoln county and bedame a modern Civil Parish when those were established.
  • The parish was in the ancient Flaxwell Wapentake in the North Kesteven division of the county, parts of Kesteven.
  • The parish is given in Kelly's 1900 Directory of Lincolnshire as being in the South Kesteven division of the county.
  • For today's district governance, see the North Kesteven District Council.

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.

  • Bastardy cases would be heard in the Sleaford petty session hearings every Monday.
  • After the 1834 Poor Law Amendment Act reforms, the parish became part of the Sleaford Poor Law Union.

Population

Year  Inhabitants
1801 30
1821 77
1841 123
1851 131
1871 139
1881 173
1891 148
1901 128
1911 145
1921 171

Schools

  • The parish had a school by 1900, built to hold 50 children.
  • For more on researching school records, see our Schools Research page.