Dorrington
- The parish was in the Sleaford sub-district of the Sleaford Registration District.
- Check our Census Resource page for county-wide resources.
- The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
Census Year |
Piece No. |
| 1861 |
R.G. 9 / 2342 |
| 1871 |
R.G. 10 / 3349 |
- The Anglican parish church is dedicated to Saints James and John and was built on a hill overlooking the village.
- The east wall of the church was rebuilt in 1330.
- The church was restored in 1867.
- The church seats 200.
- The village had a small chapel of ease, but this was taken down in 1698. This chapel was appropriated to Shelford Priory in Nottinghamshire.
- A photograph of Saints James and John Church is at the Wendy Parkinson English Church Photographs site.
- Here is a photo of Saints James and John Church, taken by Ron Cole (who retains the copyright):

- The Anglican parish register dates from 1653.
- The Lincolnshire FHS has a Loan Library service which has the parish registers on microfiche for Baptisms from 1654 to 1812 and Marriages from 1654 to 1812.
- The LFHS has published several marriage and burial indexes for the Lafford Deanery to make your search easier.
- The Wesleyan Methodists had a chapel here, built in 1832, then replaced in 1881. There was also a Wesleyan Reform chapel. For information and assistance in researching these chapels, see our non-conformist religions page.
- Check our Church Records page for county-wide resources.
- The parish was in the Sleaford sub-district of the Sleaford Registration District.
- Check our Civil Registration page for sources and background on Civil Registration which began in July, 1837.
This village and parish are 5 miles north of Sleaford, on the B1188 trunk road. Digby parish lies to the north. The parish covers over 1,900 acres.
If you are planning a visit:
- In 1841, the Earl of Harrowby was lord of the manor and owner of most of the land in the parish.
- The national grid reference is TF 0752.
- You'll want an Ordnance Survey "Explorer 272" map, which has 2.5 inches to the mile scale.
- See our "Maps" page for additional resources.
- The parish name is often found as "Dirrington".
- This place was an ancient parish in county Lincoln and became a modern Civil Parish when those were established.
- The parish was in the ancient Flaxwell Wapentake in the North Kesteven division of the county, in the parts of Kesteven.
- For today's governance, see the North Kesteven District Council.
- The common lands were enclosed here in 1789 (one source gives 1878).
- The poor of the parish had an allotment of 13 acres.
- Mrs. FARMER and Mrs. KAYE each left £100, the interest to be given to the poor.
- After the Poor Law Amendment Act reforms of 1834, the parish became part of the Sleaford Poor Law Union.
| Year |
Inhabitants |
| 1801 |
225 |
| 1841 |
379 |
| 1871 |
495 |
| 1881 |
398 |
| 1891 |
366 |
| 1901 |
357 |
| 1911 |
360 |
| 1921 |
410 |
- The Wesleyan Methodists had a school here prior to 1842.
- The parish had a National School here prior to 1900 that could hold 85 students.
- For more on researching school records, see our Schools Research page.
Find help, report problems, or contribute information.
[Last updated: 21-November-2011 - Louis R. Mills]