Haceby
- The parish was in the Colsterworth sub-district of the Grantham Registration District.
- In 1891, the parish was reassigned to the new "Grantham South" sub-district of the Grantham Registration District.
- Check our Census Resource page for county-wide resources.
- The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
Census Year |
Piece No. |
| 1861 |
R.G. 9 / 2347 |
| 1871 |
R.G. 10 / 3354 |
| 1891 |
R.G. 12 / 2582 |
- The Anglican parish church is dedicated to Sts. Margaret & Barbara.
- The church was partially restored in 1890.
- The church seats only about 60.
- The Diocese of Lincoln declared this church redundant in October, 1973.
- There is a photograph of Sts. Margaret & Barbara Church on the Wendy Parkinson web site under her "Still more Lincolnshire churches".
- Here is a photo of St. Margaret's Church, taken by Ron Cole (who retains the copyright):

- The Anglican parish register dates from 1560.
- The Lincolnshire FHS has a Loan Library service which has the parish registers on microfiche for Baptisms from 1560 to 1812 and Marriages from 1560 to 1812.
- The Lincolnshire FHS has published several indexes (marriage and burial) for the Lafford Deanery to make your search easier.
- Check our Church Records page for county-wide resources.
- The parish was in the Colsterworth sub-district of the Grantham Registration District.
- In 1891, the parish was reassigned to the new "Grantham South" sub-district of the Grantham Registration District.
- Check our Civil Registration page for sources and background on Civil Registration which started in July, 1837.
Haceby is both a small village and a parish which lies 8 miles east of Grantham. The parish covers only about 730 acres.
If you are planning a visit, see:
- The national grid reference is TF 0336.
- You'll want an Ordnance Survey Explorer #248 map, which has a scale of 2.5 inches to the mile.
- See our Maps page for additional resources.
For a photograph of the Haceby War Memorial (shared with Newton parish) and the list of names on it, see the Roll of Honour site.
- This place was an ancient parish in Lincoln County and became a modern Civil Parish when those were established.
- The parish was in the ancient Aveland Wapentake in the North Kesteven district in the parts of Kesteven.
- On April 1st, 1931, the old parish boundaries were abolished and this parish was merged to creat the Newton and Haceby Civil Parish.
- For today's district governance, see the North Kesteven District Council.
- There was a charity of £7 (in 1900) from the sale of land in Wigtoft for distribution to the poor.
- As a result of the Poor Law Amendment Act reforms of 1834, the parish became part of the Grantham Poor Law Union.
| Year |
Inhabitants |
| 1801 |
48 |
| 1841 |
64 |
| 1851 |
79 |
| 1861 |
66 |
| 1871 |
67 |
| 1881 |
53 |
| 1891 |
73 |
| 1901 |
46 |
| 1911 |
60 |
| 1921 |
51 |
- The children of this parish attended school in nearby Newton parish.
- See our Schools page for more information on researching school records.
Find help, report problems, or contribute information.
[Last updated: 2-January-2013 - Louis R. Mills]