We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Sutton St James

Archives and Libraries

Cemeteries

  • St James, Chapel Gate, Church of England

Census

  • Sutton St. James was part of the Long Sutton sub-district of the Holbeach Registration District.
  • Check our Census Resource page for county-wide resources.
  • The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
Census
Year
Piece No.
1841 H.O. 107 / 611
1851 H.O. 107 / 2097
1861 R.G. 9 / 2326
1871 R.G. 10 / 3326
1891 R.G. 12 / 2566

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Sutton St James area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

  • The Anglican parish church is dedicated to Saint James.
  • Sutton St. James used to be a chapelry of Long Sutton before being formed into its own parish.
  • The original church was built in 1302.
  • The tower was added in the 15th century.
  • Major parts of the church were destroyed during Cromwell's Protectorate but were rebuilt much later in 1879.
  • The church chancel end wall was rebuilt in 1894.
  • The church seats 170.
  • The clock was installed in the tower in 1920 to commemorate those who died in the First World War.
  • Evelyn SIMAK has a photograph of St. James' Church on Geo-graph, taken in January, 2011.
  • Here is a photograph of St. James Church, taken by Ron COLE (who retains the copyright):

St. James Church

  • Here is another photograph of St. James Church (with the tower behind the tree on the right), taken by Ron COLE (who retains the copyright):

St. James Church wide shot

  • And here is the tower of St. James Church, taken by Ron COLE (who retains the copyright):

St. James Church tower

Church Records

  • Anglican parish registers exist from 1570.
  • Sutton St. James is in the East Elloe Deanery, for which several indexes exist.
  • We have a partial parish register extract in a pop-up text file for you. Your additions and corrections are welcome.
  • The Wesleyan Methodists built a chapel here in 1841, as did the Baptists in 1813. For information and assistance in researching these chapels, see our non-conformist religions page.
  • Check our Church Records page for county-wide resources.

Civil Registration

  • The parish was in the Long Sutton sub-district of the Holbeach Registration District.
  • Check our Civil Registration page for sources and background on Civil Registration which started in July, 1837.

Description and Travel

Sutton St. James is a parish and a village about 102 miles north of London, 3 miles south of the A17 trunk road that runs between King's Lynn and Holbeach. Gedney parish lies to the north and west and Tydd St. Mary parish to the east. The area is marshy fenland, drained by several small canals and the larger South Holland Main Drain.

If you are planning a visit:

You can see pictures of Sutton St James which are provided by:

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Sutton St James has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Maps

  • See our Maps page for additional resources.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference TF396184 (Lat/Lon: 52.745173, 0.066652), Sutton St James which are provided by:

Military History

  • Adrian S. PYE has a photograph of the church clock memorial on Geo-graph, taken in January, 2011.
  • In addition to the church clock, a tablet was placed in the church as a memorial to the men of the parish who perished in World War I.

Military Records

  • See the Roll of Honour website for a complete list from 1914 through 1918.

Names, Geographical

  • The name Sutton is from the Old English suth+tun, or "southern village".
    A. D. Mills, "A Dictionary of English Place-Names," Oxford University Press, 1991.

Politics and Government

  • This place was an ancient Chapelry of Long Sutton in Lincolnshire and became a modern Civil Parish in December, 1866.
  • The parish was in the ancient Elloe Wapentake in the South Holland district in the parts of Holland.
  • You can examine the parish governance at Sutton St. James Parish Council, but they are not staffed to answer family history questions.
  • For today's district governance, visit the South Holland District Council site.
  • In March, 1884, this Civil Parish was reduced in size when the Hundred Road area was transfered to Sutton St. Mary Civil Parish.

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.

  • Bastardy cases would be heard in the Elloe (Spalding) petty session hearings.
  • After the Poor Law Amendment Act reforms of 1834, the parish became part of the Holbeach Poor Law Union.
  • The parish combined its various charities into a trust and used the charity income to build dwellings for the poor.

Population

Year  Inhabitants
1801 308
1831 391
1871 557
1881 605
1891 605
1901 572
1911 573

Schools

  • A school was built in the village in 1859. It was enlarged in 1893 to hold up to 166 children. The school is on Bells Drove and it has a website that is currently (2011) under construction.
  • For more on researching school records, see our Schools Research page.

Note: Sections marked (JB) were contributed by John R. G. Bland of Lincolnshire.