"KENTON is a pleasant village, in the picturesque valley of the river Kenn, opposite the woody grounds of Powderham Castle, and about a mile W. of the estuary of the Exe, and 7 miles S.S.E. of Exeter. Its parish extends westward to the lofty range of the Haldon Hills, and comprises 5400 acres of land, including the hamlets of South Town, Cofford, Fenbridge, Staplake, Lyston, Cheverstone, Wilsworthy, West Town, and East Town; and the large village of STARCROSS. . . . The Earl of Devon owns a great part of the parish and is lord of the manor, . . . Kenton Church, (All Saints,) is a large and handsome building of red stone, with a lofty tower, containing six bells. It is supposed to have been built in the reign of Edward III, . . . The Dean and Chapter of Salisbury are appropriators of the rectory, and patrons of the vicarage, valued in K.B. at £34. 13s. 4d., and in 1831 at £265, and now in the incumbency of the Rev. A.L. Dames, M.A., who has a good residence with tasteful grounds. . . . At West Town is an old dwelling, which was formerly an ancient chapel dedicated to St Ann. Here is a National School, established in 1838. . . " [From White's Devonshire Directory (1850)]
A parish in Exminster Hundred, in the Archdeaconry and Diocese of Exeter. The modern parish of Starcross was created in 1828 from parts of Kenton and Dawlish.