Hide
Monkleigh
hide
Hide
hide
- Almanacs◬
- Archives & Libraries◬
- Bibliography◬
- Biography◬
- Business & Commerce Records
- Cemeteries◬
- Census
- Chronology◬
- Church History
- Church Records
- Churches
- Civil Registration◬
- Correctional Institutions◬
- Court Records◬
- Description & Travel
- Directories
- Emigration & Immigration◬
- Encyclopaedias & Dictionaries◬
- Folklore◬
- Gazetteers
- Genealogy
- Handwriting◬
- Heraldry◬
- Historical Geography◬
Hide
Click on map to view parish boundaries in detail.
Hide
Hide
hide
- History◬
- Jewish History◬
- Land & Property
- Language & Languages◬
- Manors
- Maps
- Medical Records◬
- Merchant Marine◬
- Military History◬
- Names, Geographical◬
- Names, Personal
- Newspapers◬
- Occupations◬
- Periodicals◬
- Politics & Government◬
- Poor Houses, Poor Law◬
- Population◬
- Probate Records◬
- Schools◬
- Social Life & Customs◬
- Societies◬
- Taxation◬
- Voting Registers◬
Hide
"MONKLEIGH, 3 miles W.N.W. of Great Torrington, is a village and parish, containing 699 souls, and 2177 acres of land, formerly belonging to Montacute Priory, in Somersetshire. The Rev. J.T.P. Coffin is now lord of the manor, which was given to his family after the Reformation; but a great part of the parish belongs to Wm. Tardrew, Esq., and John Saltren Willett, Esq.; the former of whom resides at Annery, a fine old mansion which has been much altered and modernized, and was for a long period the seat of the Hankford family. J.S. Willett, Esq., resides at Petticombe, and here are several smaller landowners. Sir Wm. Hankford, who died at Annery, in 1422, is said to have been the Lord Chief Justice who committed Prince Henry to the Tower, for striking him a blow on the bench." [From White's Devonshire Directory (1850)]
A parish in Shebbear Hundred, the Archdeaconry of Barnstaple, and the Diocese of Exeter.
Hide
Listings of Licensed Victuallers for this parish are to be found here.
Snetzler, M.F. North Devon Surname Index to the Census. Microfiche: M.F. Snetzler. [Covers 1841, 1861, 1871 and 1881 census records for this parish]
Monkleigh - from J. Stabb. Some Old Devon Churches (London: 1908-16).
Parish Registers going back to 1548 are held in the Devon Record Office.
Transcripts of the Parish Registers going back to 1548 are held in a special collection in the Westcountry Studies Library.
The Devon FHS publishes indexes covering (as of June 2004): Baptisms 1813-1839, Marriages 1754-1837, Burials 1813-1837 - for details see their Devon Parish List.
Bideford Methodist Circuit baptisms (1819 -1870) transcribed by David Carter. (Contains entries from the following parishes: Abbotsham, Allington, Alverdiscott, Alwington, Appledore, Arlington, Barnstaple, Bideford, Buckland Brewer, Bucks Mills, Burrington, Chulmleigh, Clovelly, Fremington, Frithelstock, Great Torrington, Hatherleigh, Huntshaw, Ilfracombe, Instow, Landcross, Little Torrington, Littleham, Loxhore, Marystowe, Monkleigh, Newton Tracey, Northam, Parkham, South Molton, St Giles in the Wood, Wear Giffard, Westleigh, Woolfardisworthy.)
Other churches and chapels (with pre-1840 records):
- Wesleyan Chapel: Registers for c1819-37 - see Bideford (PRO RG 4/955)
Entered into the IGI (as of Jan 1993): Parish Church Christenings 1567-1840 and Marriages 1548-1850.
An index of baptisms, marriages and burials in the parishes of Abbotsham, Alverdiscott, Alwington, Bideford, Buckland Brewer, Bulkworthy, Clovelly, East Putford, Frithelstock, Hartland, Landcross, Littleham, Monkleigh, Northam, Parkham, Wear Gifford, Welcombe and West Woolfardisworthy. With photographs of the churches and extracts from White's Devonshire Directory 1850 and Lewis' Topographical Dictionary of England 1844, CD-ROM, Exeter, Devon FHS (2009). [Abbotsham Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1836, Bur: 1813-1837; Alverdiscott Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1775-1837; Alwington Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Bideford Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Buckland Brewer Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Bulkworthy Bapt: 1813-1841, Mar: 1814-1836, Bur: 1813-1837; Clovelly Bapt: 1813-1838, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; East Putford Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1797-1837, Bur: 1813-1839; Frithelstock Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Hartland Bapt: 1838-1839, Mar: 1558-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Landcross Bapt: 1814-1839, Mar: 1761-1836, Bur: 1813-1837; Littleham Bapt: 1813-1841, Mar: 1755-1837, Bur: 1813-1851; Monkleigh Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Northam Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Parkham Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1537-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Wear Gifford Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1755-1836, Bur: 1813-1837; Welcombe Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1757-1836, Bur: 1813-1837; West Woolfardisworthy Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837.]
Section on Monkleigh from Samuel Lewis: A Topographical Dictionary of England (1831), provided by Mel Lockie.
Extract from Murray's "Handbook for Travellers in Devonshire" (1879), for Great Torrington, with Monkleigh and Frithelstock.
Transcript of complete entry in White's Devonshire Directory of 1850.
The transcription of the section for this parish from the National Gazetteer (1868), provided by Colin Hinson.
- Ask for a calculation of the distance from Monkleigh to another place.
Dunn, Norman. I Am Surprised I Am Here At All, Devon Family Historian, vol. 133, (2010) pp.6-7. [Samuel Dunn (Monkleigh, b. 1781) and his descendants.]
Morris, Tony. The Two Richards, Devon Family Historian, no. 188, (2023) pp.30-32. [The families of tRichard Morris (b. Monkleigh 1808) and Richard Adams (b. Cockington in Alwington 1814)]
Lauder, Rosemary Anne. Vanished Houses of North Devon, R.A. Lauder (Printed by Penwell Ltd, Parkwood, Callington, Cornwall) (1981) 72 pp. [ISBN 0 950 792004] [Annery House - pp. 22-32] [Lookups]
Monkleigh County Primary School. Centenary exhibition Monkleigh:1875-1975: collection of extracts from the Manor records 1282- 1936 of the Portledge Estate. Typescript [1975] 23p. [Barnstaple Library - 333.332/MON 1/MON]
View a map of the boundaries of this town/parish.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SS457207 (Lat/Lon: 50.965001, -4.198725), Monkleigh which are provided by:
- OpenStreetMap
- Google Maps
- StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
- Bing (was Multimap)
- Old Maps Online
- National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
- Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
- English Jurisdictions in 1851 (Unfortunately the LDS have removed the facility to enable us to specify a starting location, you will need to search yourself on their map.)
- Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
- GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)
- All places within the same township/parish shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby places shown on an Openstreetmap map.
Monkleigh contributors to a 1678 brief for the rebuilding of St Paul's Cathedral.