Hide

Nymet Rowland

hide
Hide

"NYMET ROWLAND, or Rowland's Leigh, is a small village in the Taw valley, 4 miles S. by E. of Chulmleigh, containing only 102 souls, and 591A. of land, belonging mostly to Mr. Jas. Partridge, of the Barton, and Mr. John Wreford, of Cleavehanger. The Heal farm is occupied by Mr. Cann. The manor was dismembered many years ago. The Church (St. Bartholomew,) is a small structure, with a tower and three bells. The rectory, valued in K.B. at £6. 1s. 3d., is in the patronage of Wm. Tanner, Esq., and incumbency of the Rev. T.H. Dickinson, M.A., who has 71 acres of glebe, but no parsonage. The tithes were commuted in 1842 for £71 per annum. " [From White's Devonshire Directory (1850)]

A parish in North Tawton Hundred, the Archdeaconry of Barnstaple, and the Diocese of Exeter.

Hide
topup

Biography

The Clergy Are an Exceptional Case - account of a mid-nineteenth  acandal involving the Rev. Charles Rookes.

topup

Census

Snetzler, M.F. North Devon Surname Index to the Census. Microfiche: M.F. Snetzler. [Covers 1881 census records for this parish]

topup

Church Records

Parish Registers going back to 1719 are held in the Devon Record Office.

Transcripts of the Parish Registers going back to 1719 are held in a special collection in the Westcountry Studies Library.

The Devon FHS publishes indexes covering (as of June 2004): Baptisms 1813-1841, Marriages 1754-1837, Burials 1734-1879 - for details see their book list.

The members' area of the Devon FHS website makes available online images, not at present (Jan 2016) available elsewhere, of the Parish Registers covering Nymet Rowland Baptisms, Marriages and Burials: 1719-1812, Baptisms: 1813-1915, Marriages and Banns (typed):1756-1810, Marriages:1815-1836, Marriages:1837-1912, Burials: 1813-1909.

Entered into the IGI (as of Jan 1993): Parish Church Christenings 1719-1812 and Marriages 1734-1753.

An index of baptisms, marriages and burials in the parishes of Bondleigh, Bow, Brushford, Burrington, Chawleigh, Chulmleigh, Clannaborough, Coleridge, Eggesford, Lapford, North Tawton, Nymet Rowland, Wembworthy and Zeal Monachorum. With photographs of the churches and extracts from White's Directory (1850). CD-ROM 063, Exeter, Devon FHS (2014). [Bondleigh Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1838; Bow Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Brushford Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1756-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Burrington Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Chawleigh Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Chulmleigh Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Clannaborough Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1759-1834, Bur: 1697-1836; Coleridge Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Eggesford Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1750-1838; Lapford Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1567-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; North Tawton Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Nymet Rowland Bapt: 1813-1841, Mar: 1756-1836, Bur: 1734-1879; Wembworthy Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1733-1837, Bur: 1813-1839; Zeal Monachorum Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837]

 

topup

Description & Travel

Section on Nymet Rowland  from Samuel Lewis: A Topographical Dictionary of England (1831), provided by Mel Lockie.

You can see pictures of Nymet Rowland which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

The transcription of the section for this parish from the National Gazetteer (1868), provided by Colin Hinson.

topup

Genealogy

Christie, Peter. The true story of the North Devon savages. Trans. Devon Assoc. 24 (1992) [Cheriton Family]

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Nymet Rowland has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

In Strange Company, by James Greenwood, 1874 - The North Devon Savages - from Lee Jackson's Victorian Dictionary website.

Williams, H.Fulford. Notes on the parish of Nymet Rowland, Devon. Typescript (1962) 8p. [Westcountry Studies Library - sB/NYM/0001/WIL]

topup

Maps

View a map of the boundaries of this town/parish.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SS711082 (Lat/Lon: 50.858903, -3.832808), Nymet Rowland which are provided by:

topup

Names, Personal

Nymet Rowland contributors to a 1678 brief for the rebuilding of St Paul's Cathedral.

topup

Probate Records

Summary of the will of John Wreford (1787) provided by John Moore.