St Martin in the Fields

The parish registers and other records are held at City of Westminster Archives Centre and listed in detail in their guide. They include Baptisms, 1551-1657, 1660-1965; Confirmations, 1887-1955 (Indexed 1887-1914); Banns, 1699-1725, 1729-1966; Marriages, 1551-1968; Burials, 1551-1853. The parish bought an additional burial ground at Pratt Street, Camden Town in 1803, and registers 1806-1856 are also at the Westminster Archives, and an index has been published by the LWMFHS. There is a rich collection of other records.

Parishes in Westminster Rural Deanery in 1903, and Anglican churches in Westminster in 1890/1905 have some information on this and other churches in this historic parish, including records, whether churches are still open, and where they are.

The church of St Martin in the Fields is a notable landmark at the Eastern side of Trafalgar Square. It was rebuilt in 1722 by James Gibb.

• Geograph
• Flickr

• Ask for a calculation of the distance from St Martin in the Fields to another place.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference TQ301805 (Lat/Lon: 51.508461, -0.12673), St Martin in the Fields which are provided by:

• OpenStreetMap
• Google Maps
• StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
• Bing (was Multimap)
• Old Maps Online
• National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
• Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
• English Jurisdictions in 1851 (Unfortunately the LDS have removed the facility to enable us to specify a starting location, you will need to search yourself on their map.)
• Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
• GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)

• All places within the same township/parish shown on an Openstreetmap map.
• Nearby townships/parishes shown on an Openstreetmap map.
• Nearby places shown on an Openstreetmap map.

Settlement examinations (1750-1775) have been made available on line by the City of Westminster Archives Centre