Totmonslow Hundred in 1851

"Totmonslow, or Totmanslow, is the north-eastern Hundred of Staffordshire, and contains that mountainous region called the Moorlands, which adjoins and partakes of the general character of the Derbyshire Peak, abounding in lime, coal and stone.
This bleak and alpine district exhibits many of the wildest and most stupendous features of nature, as well as some of her more chaste and fertile beauties, the latter of which are confined chiefly to the narrow and picturesque valleys of the rivers Dove, Manyfold, Hamps, Tean, Blythe, Dane, and Churnet, which have their principal sources in this Hundred, and here receive many small but rapid streams from the high, peaty moorlands and rocky mountains which rise in picturesque disorder, and shut in the fertile pastures of the glens and valleys.
The Hundred is of irregular, oval figure, stretching from the three shires stone, above Flash, southwards to Uttoxeter, a distance of 25 miles, and averaging from 10 to 15 miles in breadth. The River Dove forms its eastern boundary for nearly 30 miles, and separates it from Derbyshire, and from about 10 miles at its northern extremity, it is divided from Cheshire by the River Dane.
The southern and eastern parts of it are traversed by the Uttoxeter and Caldon Canals, and by the Churnet Valley and North Staffordshire Railways.
It contains four market towns, Leek, Longnor, Cheadle, and Uttoxeter, and about 70 townships, comprised in ten chapelries and thirty parishes. They are divided into North and South Divisions, and Mr William Keats, of Leek, is the High Constable of the former, and Mr J Kidney, of Uttoxeter, of the latter. The whole Hundred is in the Northern Parliamentary Division of Staffordshire, and in the Rural Deaneries of Alstonfield, Cheadle, Leek, and Uttoxeter."

[From History, Gazetteer and Directory of Staffordshire, William White, Sheffield, 1851]