Open a form to report problems or contribute information

1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for York parish:

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

York parish:

York, Deans transcription:

The List of the Deans of York in York Minster.


1093Hugh 1436William Felter
1135William de Sainte Barbe 1452Richard Andrew
1147Robert de Gant 1477Robert Booth
1158Robert Butevilain 1488Christopher Urswick
1186Hubert Walter 1494William Sheffield
1189Henry Marshall 1497Geoffrey Blythe
1194Simon de Apulia 1503Christopher Bainbridge
1214William Testard 1508James Harrington
1217Hamo 1513Thomas Wolsey
1220Roger de Insula 1514John Young
1233Geoffrey de Norwich 1516Brian Higden
1239Fulk Bassett 1539Richard Layton
1244Walter de Kirkham 1544Nicholas Wotton
1249Sewal de Bovill 1567Matthew Hutton
1257Godfrey de Ludham 1589John Thornborough
1258Roger de Holderness 1617George Meriton
1262William de Langton 1625John Scott
1279Robert de Scarborough 1660Richard Marsh
1290Henry de Newark 1664William Sancroft
1296William de Hambleton 1677Tobias Wickham
1307Raymond de Goth 1697Thomas Gale
1310William Pickering 1702Henry Finch
1312Robert Pickering 1728Richard Osbaldeston
1333William de Colby 1747John Fountayne
1336William de La Zouche 1802George Markham
1342Elias Talleyrand de Perigord 1823William Cockburn
1366Angelicus Grimaud 1858Augustus Duncombe
1382Adam Easton 1880Arthur Purey-Cust
1385Edmund Stafford 1917William Foxley Norris
1395Roger Walden 1926Lionel Ford
1398Richard Clifford 1932Herbert Bate
1401Thomas Langley 1941Eric Milner-White
1406John Prophete 1964Alan Richardson
1416Thomas Polton 1975Ronald Jasper
1420William Gray 1984John Southgate
1426Robert Gilbert 1994Raymond Furnell

Data transcribed by
Jack Parry.
from photography by Colin Hinson