Crambe Parish information from Bulmers' 1890.
Geographical and Historical information from the year 1890.
Wapentake of Bulmer - Electoral Division of Sheriff Hutton - Petty Sessional Division of Flaxton - Poor Law Union and County Court District of Malton - Rural Deanery of Bulmer - Archdeaconry of Cleveland - Diocese of York.
This parish lies in the vale of the Derwent, with the river for its eastern boundary, and is intersected by the York and Scarborough railway. The soil is generally rich and fertile, and the scenery varied and picturesque. Agriculture is the chief occupation of the inhabitants, but some quarrying operations are also carried on. The parochial limits include the townships of Crambe and Barton-le-Willows, the united area of which is 2,102 acres, and population, 398. The former township comprises 1,160 acres, the property and lordship of Sir Charles William Strickland, Bart., Hildenley. It is valued for rating purposes at £2,719, and had, in 1881, 148 inhabitants.
The small, but picturesque, village, which gives its name to the township and parish, stands a short distance from the Derwent, in a beautifully wooded district opposite Kirkham abbey, and is about six miles S.W. of Malton, and 12 miles from York, The Church (St. Michael) is an ancient stone edifice, originally erected in the Norman era, and partially rebuilt in the Early English period. The chancel arch, with its two massive pillars, belongs to the early building, as does also the lower part of the tower with its round-headed doorway. The church was restored in 1887 at a cost of £750, when an unsightly gallery was removed, the Early Gothic windows again opened out, and the old pews replaced by open benches of pitchpine. The east window is a double lancet, filled with stained glass, representing Christ disputing with the Doctors at the age of 12 years, and the Raising of Jairus' Daughter. The font, with a square top resting on a central column, with a smaller one at each of the four corners, belongs to the Transition period. The living is a vicarage, worth £350 a year, with residence, in the gift of the Lord Chancellor, and held by the Rev. William Baker, M.A., Christ College, Cambridge.
BARTON-LE-WILLOWS is a township containing 992 acres, the property of Sir Charles W. Strickland, Bart., lord of the manor; F. T. Nightingale, and a few small freeholders. Its rateable value is £2,104, and population, 260. The village, small and picturesque, is distant about two miles from Crambe, and one from the railway station. The Wesleyans have a small chapel here, built in 1816; and there is also a small chapel-of-ease served from the Parish Church.
[Description(s) from Bulmer's History and Directory of North Yorkshire (1890)]
- Transcript of the entry for the Post Office, professions and trades in Bulmer's Directory of 1890.
Scan, OCR and html by Colin Hinson. Checking and correction by Peter Nelson.