Open a form to report problems or contribute information

1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for Thirsk parish:

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

Thirsk parish:

Thirsk, Incumbents transcription:

The List of Incumbents in St. Mary's Church, Thirsk.

of the Parish Church of St Mary, Thirsk

In 1145 the church was given by Robert de Mowbray
to the Canons of Newburgh Priory who provided Vicars
until the Reformation. No names are available for that period

1574Michael Jackson 1869Benjamin Lamb
1592John Man 1870Charles Edward Camidge
1600Thomas Todd 1888William Teesdale Mackintosh
1616Richard Croo 1893John Clarke Hanson
1632John Gilley 1897Francis Leonard Perkins
1667George Smith 1910Hubert Pearson Hustler Austen
1679Elias Micklethwaite 1936John Young
1681Joseph Midgley 1943Harry Broughton
1704Patrick Dujon 1956Dudley Joseph Hill
1706William Steer 1968Joseph Mainwaring-Taylor
1708Joseph Duckinfield 1979Robert Lewis
1720James Williamson 1993Eric Richard Norris
1745Robert Hargreaves   
1747Anthony Routh   
1762Daniel Addison   
1783John Barker   
1798Jonathan Holmes   
1830Robert Lascelles   
1833Samuel Coates   
1843William Lindley   

Data transcribed by
Haydn Scott.
from photography by Colin Hinson