Hide
Mearns
hide
Hide
hide
Hide
hide
Hide
Hide
"MEARNS, parish, containing Newton Mearns village and part of Busby town, in south-east of Renfrewshire. Its length is 7½ miles; its greatest breadth 3⅓ miles; its area 10,281 acres. ..... Pop. 3965. The surface rises gradually from north-east to south-west, is mostly diversified with rising-grounds and small green hills, and includes, in the north-west, a considerable extent of moor. Chief seats are Upper Pollock, Capelrig, Southfield, and Greenbank; and the chief antiquity is Mearns Castle, a well-preserved ancient tower, once the principal seat of the Earls of Nithsdale. ..... There were formerly 6 schools for 467 scholars, and there are now, in lieu of these, 2 new ones for 815."
[From The Gazetteer of Scotland, by Rev. John Wilson, 1882.]
Hide
| Mearns, Church of Scotland |
| Williamwood, Church of Scotland |
"The churches, including those in Busby, are Established, Free and 2 United Presbyterian."
From The Gazetteer of Scotland, by Rev. John Wilson, 1882.
Records in the old parish registers (OPRs) for Mearns parish span the following years:
Births or Baptisms ~ 1756-1854
Marriages or Banns ~ 1825-1854
Deaths or Burials ~ no records
- Ask for a calculation of the distance from Mearns to another place.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference NS527535 (Lat/Lon: 55.752303, -4.349334), Mearns which are provided by:
- OpenStreetMap
- Google Maps
- StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
- Bing (was Multimap)
- Old Maps Online
- National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
- Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
- Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
- GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)
- All places within the same township/parish shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby places shown on an Openstreetmap map.