Hide

Llanllyr(-Yn-Rhos) / Llanyre

hide
Hide

"LLANYRE, or LLANHIR (LLAN-HIR), a parish in the hundred of RHAIADR, county of RADNOR, SOUTH WALES, 5 miles (N.) from Builth, on the road to Rhaiadr, containing 674 inhabitants. This parish is situated between the rivers Wye and Ithon, by the former of which it is bounded on the west, and by the latter on the east. It extends five miles in length and about two miles and a half in breadth,............ The living is a vicarage not in charge, consolidated with that of Nantmel, in the archdeaconry of Brecknock, and diocese of St. David's. The church, dedicated to All Saints, ...........There are places of worship for Baptists and Wesleyan Methodists, at Newbridge, on the border of the parish.........The average annual expenditure for the maintenance of the poor amounts to £ 283. 12...............( A Topographical Dictionary of Wales, Samuel Lewis, 1833)

Hide

Includes Newbridge-on-Wye, a hamlet in this parish

Hide
topup

Bibliography

Cole, E J            A Llanyre Charter of 1291/2            Radnorshire Society Transactions   Vol 25 1955          Welsh Journals Online  

Gibson-Watt, Lord of Doldowlod        The last seventy years as I remember them           Radnorshire Society Transactions, vol. 60 1990    Welsh Journals Online

Jones, M J. Chapel of treasured memory : the Quaker chapel at Llanyre, Llandrindod Wells, about 60 years ago. Country Quest 28/6 (1987), p. 18-19

Rees, Wynford. The centenary of Llanyre Parish Church Llanllyr-yn-Rhos, 1886-1986. Llanllyr-yn-rhos] : [Llanyre Parish Church], [1986?] 24p Twentieth century Llanyre : through the eyes of its people. Llanyre : Llanyre WI, [2000?] 49p

topup

Church History

Church and chapel data from The Religious census of 1851 : A Calendar of the returns relating to Wales, Vol 1, South Wales. Ed. by   I.G   Jones, & D. Williams. UWP,  Cardiff, 1976. The names given towards the end of each entry are those of the informants.

Llanyre Parish; Statistics; Area 5901 acres; Population 397 males, 376 females, total 773

  • Llanyre Chapel      Attendance - afternoon 50     1 service in English            Thomas Lloyd, Chapel Warden, Dolwoner
  • Pentre Newydd or New Bridge, Particular Baptist      Erected 1760, rebuilt 1828       Attendance -(average) general congregation 300; scholars 67         William Probert, Assistant Minister, Newbridge & Llanyre
  • Newbridge Chapel, Wesleyan Methodist                Erected 1811       Attendance - (average) general congregation 60, scholars 20          John Jones, Minister, Llanidloes

Church of St Llyr, Llanyre on the Radnorshire Churches Survey site

topup

Church Records

Detailed information on deposited registers and transcripts for this parish is given on the Powys Archives page Radnorshire parish registers

As a guide only, the principal extant parochial church records for this parish span the dates shown below (as detailed in Parish Registers of Wales, NLW 2000) but exact current holdings should be confirmed with the individual Archives;

  • Baptisms 1760-1903; Marriages 1759-1772, 1783, 1795-1971; Burials 1760-1963
    Parish Registers, or copies, for all or part of these dates are held at the NLW and/or Powys Archives.  
    Bishops Transcripts for various periods are held at the NLW   
topup

Description & Travel

Llanyre - on wikipedia

Aerial photograph of Castell Collen Roman Fort,Llanyre, 1994 - on the People's Collection Wales site 

You can see pictures of Llanllyr(-Yn-Rhos) / Llanyre which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Llanllyr(-Yn-Rhos) / Llanyre has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

Llanyre War Memorial - on the Roll of Honour site

topup

Land & Property

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

  • Llanbister, Llanyre and Llanddewi Ystradenni deeds   " Deeds and records, 1618-1758, relating to land in the parishes of Llanbister, 1692-1734; Llanyre, 1618-1758; Llanddewi Ystradenni, 1713-1758"  
topup

Maps

Kain, R.J.P., Oliver, R.R., Historic Parishes of England and Wales: an Electronic Map of Boundaries before 1850 with a Gazetteer and Metadata [computer file]. Colchester, Essex: History Data Service, UK Data Archive [distributor], 17 May 2001. SN: 4348.   Here is a gazetteer/finding aid plus a set of overview maps to accurately identify the position of parishes within the county

Family Search have an interactive map called "England and Wales Jurisdictions 1851" showing parish (and other) boundaries with optional background maps such as Ordnance Survey. There is also a Search facility, do read the guidance notes to get maximum benefit from this useful resource. See here for further background information to assist in the interpretation of this data

Victorian Powys for schools site - Map of Llanyre in 1840, and 1902

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SO025607 (Lat/Lon: 52.235779, -3.429708), Llanllyr(-Yn-Rhos) / Llanyre which are provided by:

topup

Public Records

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

  • Llanyre Parish and Community Council Records  1840-1999
  • Llanyre Parish Records  1868-2006