GENUKI Logo   up Wales   Contents Contents   Towns and Parishes Index Pembrokeshire Towns
& Parishes

PEMBROKESHIRE

"The County of PEMBROKE is 95 Miles in circumference, contains about 420000 Acres. It is divided into 7 Hundreds, in which 5 Market Towns, [two of which (viz.) Pembroke & Haverford West sends 2 Members each to Parliament] 45 Parishes & about 4329 Houses. The Air is pleasant & good, And ye Soil in ye bottom and towards ye Sea extraordinary fruitfull. some Hills & Mountains appear in ye Inland which are more barren yet feeding abundance of Sheep, Goats, Cattle, &c. Here is plenty of Fish, Fowl, Pit-Coal & Marl. In this County is Milford Haven, ye largest & most capacious Harbour in ye Kingdom." [Emanuel Bowen, Britannia Depicta, 1720]

 

INFORMATION RELATED TO ALL OF PEMBROKESHIRE

Small map of Pembrokeshire

Click here for 1821 Map

 

 

 

 

Archives and Libraries

Pembrokeshire Record Office - on the Archives and Records Council Wales site - it also has its own online catelogue called Calm View on the Pembrokeshire gov uk site

The National Library of Wales. The major repository of information relevant to Welsh genealogy, such as Bishop's Transcripts of Parish Registers, Marriage Bonds and Allegations, Nonconformist Records, Probate Records, Tithe Maps and Apportionment Schedules, Legal and Administrative Records, Estate Records and Personal Papers, Pedigree Books, Newspapers, etc.

The main archive is the Pembrokeshire Record Office, The Castle, Haverfordwest, Pembrokeshire, SA61 2EF.  

The National Archives has details of many archive repositories in the UK with links to their web sites, if any.

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

The Royal Commission on the Ancient & Historical Monuments of Wales (RCAHMW)
Apart from their online Archive Catalogue there is the ;
Chapels database; The computerised database will eventually list all known nonconformist chapels in Wales. This initial list covers the pre-1974 county of Cardiganshire; further counties will be added as and when the database for these areas is completed. The record lists basic information about each chapel together with key dates.

Return to top of page

Bibliography

A Pembrokeshire Bibliography - Books of General Interest for Family Historians

Business and Commerce Records

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

Cemeteries

Pembrokeshire County Council - Burial Record Search facility and also a Search facility for the Parc Gwyn Crematorium Book of Remembrance

Graveyard Welsh - a guide to interpreting memorial inscriptions

M.I. Surveys of a number of burial grounds are available on microfiche from Dyfed FHS.

Census

Cenquest - offers free searches of various census indexes for Pembrokeshire, and more. The 1891 Pembrokeshire census is also available in book form by parish

1861 census for Pembrokeshire  :  Missing sections - details compiled by Gerry Lewis from the Archives CD Books Cd.

The UK BMD web site offers links to over 400 web sites that provide on-line information for UK births, marriages and deaths and censuses.

Pembrokeshire Census Lookups  including the 1841 and 1851 series [Dyfed FHS]; the 1881[LDS]  and a private database of the 1891 census covering north west Pembrokeshire.

The 1881 census index is online on LDS Family Search

On Dyfed Family History Society is a list of 1841 and 1851  Pembrokeshire E.D. census indexes where they have fiche for sale. For a list of what each Enumeration District contains see Not everyone knows this..

Return to top of page

Church History

Welsh Chapels & Churches

You may also find it worthwhile searching in the GENUKI church database.

The Presbyterian Church of Wales site  has a pdf file showing lists of CM chapels still open (with addresses) in each county (under Documents/General Info/Churches and Secretaries). This data has been noted on each chapel entry within these parish pages so it is implied that a chapel is closed if not said to be open in 2006

1891 census data - a list by Gerry Lewis giving the name of the Pembrokeshire parish, name of the church, population in 1891 and status of incumbent

Various church a chapel photographs can be viewed on Dyfed FHS who have also produced a CD  (Nov 2001) which has a list of and photographs of all the known churches and chapels in the county.

Parishes of Dyfed. This section of the Dyfed FHS site lists the parishes, churches, and chapels, within the three counties of Dyfed. It contains all those currently identified, by the National Library of Wales, where the location of registers is known. Each entry gives the OS National Grid Reference and name of the church or chapel, if known, (religious denomination), parish, county code and (page name).

Church Records

A large number - well over 50% by the mid-nineteenth century - of people in Pembrokeshire attended Nonconformist chapels, rather than the established church. Thus, except for marriages which prior to 1837 had to take place in the parish church, references to them are more likely to be found in nonconformist than in parish church records. Many of these have been deposited at the PRO (and filmed by the LDS), others are still to be found with the chapels or other libraries or archives.

Virtually all completed parish registers have been deposited in either the Pembrokeshire Record Office or the National Library of Wales. Bishop's Transcripts and Marriage Licenses are held at the National Library of Wales - and have been microfilmed by the LDS.

National Library of Wales Manuscripts and Records. An online searchable index of Marriage Bonds and Allegations.It contains details of some 90,000 marriages by licence which took place inWales between 1616 and 1837.

Listings of (present-day) Clerics, Benefices, and parishes  of the Diocese of St Davids.

Many Parish register indexes, and indexes of baptisms, marriages and burials are available on microfiche from Dyfed FHS, where there is a list of all PEM hundreds and a list of places showing which parish and hundred they fall under. 

The Dyfed FHS has indexed all marriages for the period 1812-1837, and provides a postal lookup service. Published copies of the index, in sets of parishes grouped by hundreds, are available.

Family Search UK/Ireland - Historical Record Collections 
IGI Batch Numbers - Hugh Wallis's site  and Archer Software's site  

Parish Register Copies for Pembrokeshire in the Library of the Society of Genealogists.

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

Return to top of page

Civil Registration

The UK BMD web site offers links to over 400 web sites that provide on-line information for UK births, marriages and deaths and censuses.

Detailed listing, by Brett Langston, of the places covered by the old and current Pembrokeshire Registration districts.

See separate page for details of how to obtain certificates from the Pembrokeshire Registry Office in Haverfordwest

Court Records

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

Held at Pembrokeshire Archives ;

Description and Travel

Here is a simple index relating to parish maps copied from  Historic Parishes of England and Wales: an Electronic Map of Boundaries before 1850 with a Gazetteer and Metadata [computer file]. (Kain, R.J.P., Oliver, R.R.).  

Dyfed FHS has an online database of towns in Dyfed, includes trade directory descriptions and photographs

A Vision of Britain Through Time. "This site contains information about your home area from the 2001 census -- and from every earlier British census back to 1801. It can present this information both as maps of the whole country and as graphs showing change over time in your area. It truly offers a Vision of Britain through time"

Principal Markets and Fairs in South Wales. Extracted from Kelly's Directory South Wales 1910

Gazetteer of Markets and Fairs in England and Wales to 1516. The Gazetteer compiled by Dr Samantha Letters is a catalogue of markets and fairs in medieval England and Wales. This is the first comprehensive national survey.

Celtic Pembrokeshire

Pembrokeshire Coast National Park.

A Description of the county of Pembrokeshire  from A Topographical Dictionary of Wales (1833) by Samuel Lewis.

Pembrokeshire County Council site

Pembrokeshire - on wikipedia

Return to top of page

Directories

Pigot & Co. South Wales directory for 1830. CD published by Archive CD Books. The Pembrokeshire related entries as follows have been extracted and can be seen on the relevant parish pages of Genuki;

Pigot & Co. South Wales directory for 1844. CD published by Archive CD Books. The Pembrokeshire related entries as follows have been extracted and can be seen on the relevant parish pages of Genuki;

Dyfed FHS has an online database of Pigot's 1830 Directory South Wales relating to the Dyfed counties only.

Held at Ceredigion Archives;

Gazetteers

Search the GENUKI Gazetteer.

Tallis's Topographical Dictionary of England and Wales, published in 1860 in six vols, editor E. L. Blanchard.  See Welsh Family History Archive for all the excellent county maps (showing the hundreds) and those sections of the alphabetical gazetteer that have been uploaded to date.
From the preface;
"In the following pages will be found fully described the past history and present aspect of every place of any significance in England and Wales, forming a work of permanent importance to the commercial world, of ready service to the tourist of the day, and of constant interest to the general reader, who may derive from this source a large supply of entertainment, as well as of information for the amusement and instruction of a leisure hour."

The Cenquest site is developing a new feature comprising a Gazetteer and Research Jottings based on the work of Basil Hughes and others.

Return to top of page

Genealogy

Carmarthenshire & Pembrokeshire Wills - a selection of will transcriptions

Pembrokeshire Record Office's Searchable Online Catalogue   "The catalogue contains descriptions of the archival holdings of Pembrokeshire Record Office, often down to item level description"

Wales Lookup Exchange

Pembrokeshire Families Project

The Feild family Pembrokeshire - contains a lot of general interest material. Sections relate to DAVIES of St. Ishmael's, FERRIOR of Pennar and St. Brides, FEILD of Herbrandston and ROWE of Penally

Timeline of genealogically interesting dates by Gareth Hicks

John Ball's Welsh Family History Archive provides some very useful material and links for those with Welsh ancestry.

Online Welsh Names Directoryby Graham Jaunay

Here are details of the Genealogy Mailing Lists serving the Welsh counties

Return to top of page

History

Experience Pembrokeshire - "Every community in Pembrokeshire has a rich and diverse history from prehistoric times to the present day ......."

Glen Johnson - the Teifi Estuary history man.  "...........a site dedicated to illustrating the history, architecture and archaeology of Cardigan, St. Dogmaels, Cilgerran, Llechryd, Ferwig, Llangoedmore, Llantood, Bridell, Monington and Mwnt."

For Pembrokeshire historical snippets, see Not everyone knows this..

North Pembrokeshire Historial Archaeology Project   - ".....  is a long-term research initiative investigating many aspects of archaeology relating to the period from the 17th century onwards. Much of the work to date has been on later 18th-, 19th- and 20th-century material, both settlements and graveyard memorials. Fieldwork at present is largely concentrated on excavations at Henllys Farm, a site which has the potential to reveal a sequence which runs back into at least the late Middle Ages........"

Land and Property

Taxes from Pembrokeshire. A database of Land Tax Return data 1342 -1842, compiled by Owen Vaughan; the entries predominately relate to Oriel surnames and/or Monkton parish

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

Pembrokeshire Archives holdings

Farms and Estates ; owners and occupiers from census and other records. These details have been submitted by members of Dyfed FHS and can be viewed on their site.

Here is a list of Document Collections related to Pembrokeshire held at the National Library of Wales

Language and Languages

Maps

See here to view a 'sketch map' indicating the position and relative size of each parish within its  hundred

Pembrokeshire County Council - have an online interactive mapping facility

Dyfed FHS has an early 20th century OS map of Dyfed

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

Map of Pembrokeshire in 1821.

Welsh county maps by Samuel Lewis and published in 1833

Return to top of page

Medical Records

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

Merchant Marine

Lighthouse Personnel in England and Wales and the Channel Islands 1841-1910. Includes;- Table of  Keepers; Table of Stations by county; Location map of the lighthouse sites.

Welsh Mariners  by Dr Reg Davies---includes a searchable database of over 17,000 Welsh born (or Wales resident) Master mariners, mates and engineers who held certificates of competency or service; in practice it is an index of men active from 1850 to 1945 in the merchant navy.

Swansea Mariners by Bryan Richards --- periods 1861 to 1871 and 1890 to 1894, a database of ratings such as un-certificated officers, bosun, able seaman, ordinary seaman, boy, cook, steward, etc in Glamorgan Carmarthenshire, Pembrokeshire, Cardiganshire, or from around the world. There are 32,000 detailed entries (9/2006).

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

Military History

West Wales War Memorial Project

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

Names, Geographical

Place Names of Dyfed, provided by the Dyfed FHS, lists the parishes (plus a small number of other places) in Cardiganshire, Carmarthenshire and Pembrokeshire, giving for each the name of its hundred, an OS map reference, and the civil registration district.

Place names in Pembrokeshire that have alternative spellings , or have changed completely

Some place names in south Wales - Deric John's site - now includes some Pembrokeshire names

Here is a listing of Pembrokeshire place names with their associated Genuki parish pages.

Here is a database with grid co-ordinates of 10,000 place names from the 1891/1901 censuses for certain parishes in PEM,CMN & GLA(Gower)

Return to top of page

Newspapers

Dyfed newspapers. On Dyfed FHS  there is a list of the locations that hold copies of known publications

Western Telegraph, a local newspaper covering all of Pembrokeshire

County Echo, covering the north of the county, primarily Fishguard

Occupations

1756 War Office Billeting Return - transcribed by Jon Mein from material held at TNA (WO 30/49), the transcription covers Tenby, Haverfordwest, Landilo and Carmarthen districts  - the Return  lists all "pubs" (inns, ale-houses etc) able to accommodate men and horses.

The Coal House Project - on BBC Wales. Use the Browse by Place button to home in on particular mines/areas

Extract of coroners' inquests in coalmining area of eastern Pembrokeshire, 1786-1830 by Jon Mein

Reported deaths from coalmining accidents in eastern Pembrokeshire: 1830-1936 by Jon Mein

Victorian Professional Photographers in Wales 1850-1925 - a county based database compiled by Mari Alderman, includes sources and a bibliography

A List of Mines in Pembrokeshire and the adjoining parts of Carmarthen and Ceredigion. Introduction.

Lists of magistrates and police officials in the county of Pembrokeshire  - extracted from Kelly's Directory of South Wales 1923 (published on CD by Archive CD Books)

Here is the Wales section from Outline Map of the Mining Districts of the UK from the Childrens' Employment Commission Report of 1842. The shaded areas denote the Coal and Iron Mining Districts.
Copied from the CD published by Archive CD Books

Apprentices from Dyfed in Bristol in the C17 & C18. Fiche for sale from Dyfed FHS.

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

Held at the NLW ;

Periodicals

Dyfed FHS produce a journal for members  three times yearly which contains many articles of general and specific interest to researchers in Pembrokeshire etc. Details of past issues are listed on Dyfed FHS

See under Societies

Return to top of page

Politics and Government

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

Poorhouses, Poor Law, etc.

There were five Poor Law Unions covering Pembrokeshire: Cardigan (also covering part of Cardiganshire), Haverfordwest, Newcastle in Emlyn (also covering parts of Carmarthenshire and Cardiganshire), Narberth (also covering part of Carmarthenshire), and Pembroke. The records for the Poor Law Unions of Haverfordwest, Narberth and Pembroke are in the Pembrokeshire Record Office, the others are in the Cardiganshire Record Office.

Held at Pem Archives;

The Workhouse  - on Peter Higginbotham's site

Public Records

Agricultural Statistics in 1908 for the counties of Cardiganshire, Carmarthenshire, Pembrokeshire and Glamorgan as shown in Kelly's Directory for South Wales, 1910

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

Held at the NLW ;

Schools

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

The Blue Books of 1847.   An inquiry into the state of education in Wales - on the NLW's Digital Mirror site

Day Schools in Pembrokeshire in 1847. This database consists of day schools which existed in 1847 included here within an alphabetical list of parishes 
It contains the names and types of day schools listed in the Reports of the Commissioners of Inquiry into the State of Education in Wales published in 1847

Dyfed FHS has an online database of Schools and Colleges in the Dyfed counties, many with photographs

Alumni Oxonienses 1715 - 1886. This extract of Dyfed students from a reproduction on CD of the four volumes of Alumni Oxonienses 1715-1886 published by the Archive CD Books Project. Extracted and transcribed for the Dyfed FHS by Jonathan Pike. All references to the Dyfed students have been included plus individuals who are known to be connected to Dyfed familes.

Held at Pem Archives ;

Societies

Dyfed FHS covers the old counties of Carmarthenshire, Cardiganshire and Pembrokeshire. It has several branches, including one in London. It publishes a regular journal for members.
Also has a Research Centre at the Women's Institute, 11 St. Peters Street, Carmarthen. (centre*at*dyfedfhs.org.uk)

The Pembrokeshire Historical Society (site?) "The Pembrokeshire Historical Society was formed in 1985 following the amalgamation in 1983 of the Pembrokeshire Record Society and the Pembrokeshire Local History Society. The Society exists to promote an interest in the history of Pembrokeshire and to bring together both individuals and related organisations sharing this interest."
The Journal of the Pembrokeshire Historical Society was the successor to The Pembrokeshire Historian, and is an annual English-language local history journal with academic and general articles on historical and archaeological topics. It was published from 1985 and is on Welsh Journals Online. As is the Pembrokeshire Historian 1959-1981

Social Life and Customs

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

INDIVIDUAL TOWNS AND PARISHES - See Alphabetical Listing

Return to top of page

These county pages are maintained by Gareth Hicks with help and information provided by a number of other volunteers.

(This page was last updated:  16 Jan 2014 - Gareth Hicks)

InfoFind help, report problems, and contribute information.

Copyright GENUKI and Contributors 1996 to date
GENUKI is a registered trade mark of the
charitable trust GENUKI

Valid HTML 4.01 Transitional


Hosted by Mythic Beasts Ltd.