CARTMEL-FELL, a township-chapelry in Cartmel parish, Lancashire; on the river Winster, 4¾ miles N of Grange r. station, and 6½ NNE of Cartmel. Post Town, Newton-in-Cartmel. Acres, 2,900. Real property, £3,114. Pop., 308. Houses, 61. The property is subdivided. The living is a p. curacy in the diocese of Carlisle. Value, £130. Patron, the Duke of Devonshire. The church is good; and there is a Quakers' chapel.
John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Local studies information is held at Cumbria Record Office & Local Studies Library, Barrow and at Kendal library.
Details about the census records, and indexes for Cartmel Fell.
The Register Office covering the Cartmel Fell area is Ulverston.
- Ask for a calculation of the distance from Cartmel Fell to another place.
"CARTMEL-FELL, a chapelry in the parish of Cartmel, hundred of Lonsdale North of the Sands, in the county palatine of Lancaster, 7 miles to the N. of Cartmel. Ulverston is its post town. It is situated on the banks of the small river Winster, which runs southward through the parish to Morecambe Bay. The living is a perpetual curacy in the diocese of Carlisle, value £103, in the patronage of the Duke of Devonshire. The church is dedicated to St. Anthony. Here is an endowed school with an income of about £30 per annum. There are some other charities of small value."
In 1835 Cartmel Fell was a township in the parish of Cartmel.
You can see the administrative areas in which Cartmel Fell has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.
View maps of Cartmel Fell and places within its boundaries.
View a map of the boundaries of this town/parish.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD403898 (Lat/Lon: 54.30008, -2.919021), Cartmel Fell which are provided by:
- Google Maps
- StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps (Old Ordnance Survey maps.)
- Old Maps Online (Other old maps.)
- National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
- Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
- English Jurisdictions in 1851 (Unfortunately the LDS have removed the facility to enable us to specify a starting location, you will need to search yourself on their map.)
- Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
- GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)