Norfolk Parish Links

Here are more links for Norfolk parishes.

They are in this separate page - which is linked from every parish page - to give a common format, and so that it is not necessary to add direct links from the parish pages. Such links are often very long, with multiple parameters which tend to change. Also, there are other sites which are not arranged in such a way that links can be made directly to individual parishes. This collection of links lets you explore the sites yourselves, and you may find more information by exploring than by following a direct link.

The links will also be found under their appropriate topic headings in Genuki Norfolk, where there is more information. You can access the rest of Genuki Norfolk (and the Genuki England pages) via the icons at the top of this page. You can also use the Contents & Search icon to search for names, places and topics.

Please Explore !
 

These pages are for personal use only. They may not be copied, and the links within them may not be harvested for use on your own web pages. Please see the Copyright Notice.

Copyright © Pat Newby.
January 2015

Cemeteries

• Monumental Inscriptions, from Family Search
  These are scanned images of transcriptions made by the Norfolk Women's Institute in the 1980s. There are about 240 burial sites online. Direct links from the parish pages to the transcriptions are not possible, because of the complexity of the web addresses, and because they change quite often.
• Monumental Inscriptions, from Find A Grave
  In October 2014 there were about 1000 burial sites online for Norfolk. They are difficult to count because some sites are included twice, with different names. For those sites which are included, coverage ranges from just one grave, to several hundred. There are some photographs. Not all gravestones may be included, even when a site is marked as complete, for example when stones are not legible enough to be photographed.
• Monumental Inscriptions, from Gravestone Photos
  In October 2014 there were about 210 burial sites online for Norfolk. Small photographs are included. Not all gravestones may be included, even when a site is marked as complete, for example when stones are not legible enough to be photographed.
• Monumental Inscriptions, from Interment.net
  In October 2014 there were about 25 burial sites online for Norfolk.
• See also Norfolk Cemeteries.

Censuses

• Norfolk censuses may be seen on fiche and film at some libraries, family history centres, and record offices, or ordered at LDS centres. Some libraries, etc, also offer free online access to commercial databases.
• They are available on CD, for purchase from various suppliers.
• These census years are being transcribed for FreeCEN:
  FreeCEN Norfolk 1861 Coverage (Completed November 2011)
  FreeCEN Norfolk 1871 Coverage (Completed December 2015)
  FreeCEN Norfolk 1891 Coverage
  FreeCEN Cambridgeshire 1891 Coverage for some parishes in the west of Norfolk.
• The 1891 census has a Surname List for each parish.
  Many parishes already have a direct link. If not, please follow the link above and search for your parish.
• All census years have been indexed, transcribed, and put online for searching, often with images of the original documents. This is usually on a pay-to-view basis, and the census years covered vary depending on the supplier. The main ones, in alphabetical order are:
  • Ancestry
  • Family Search
  • Findmypast.com
  • The Genealogist
  • GenesReunited
  • The National Archives
  • RootsUK
• See also Norfolk Censuses.

Church Directories

• Gazetteer of Norfolk Churches
  Norfolk churches of all denominations, with the civil parish and hundred in which each is located. Other information is included such as the deanery (for Church of England churches), and when registers start.
• Norfolk Churches
  Descriptions and pictures of many churches.
• Norfolk Churches
  Pictures of many churches.

Church Records

These sites contain transcriptions and/or scanned images. Some list all the records transcribed, while others only allow searching.

• FreeREG: Baptism, Marriage and Burial Transcriptions
• Norfolk FHS: List of Parish Register Transcripts
  This lists the transcriptions made by members of the Norfolk FHS of parish registers. Some of the transcriptions are online, but only for members of the society.
• Norfolk Baptism Project 1813 to 1880
  This shows the registers (Church of England and Nonconformist) which have been transcribed. You can then follow the links and view the transcriptions.
  Some parishes already have a direct link. If not, please follow the link above and search for your parish.
   
• Family Search: Norfolk Church of England Parish Registers
  These are scanned images of Church of England parish registers, from registers held at the Norfolk Record Office. They are arranged by parish.
• Family Search: Norfolk Archdeacons' Transcripts
  These are scanned images of Church of England Archdeacon's Transcripts, from transcripts held at the Norfolk Record Office. They are arranged by parish.
• Family Search: Norfolk Bishop's Transcripts
  These are scanned images of Church of England Bishops' Transcripts, from transcripts held at the Norfolk Record Office. They are arranged by archdeaconry, then by year.
• Family Search: Norfolk Marriage Licence Bonds
  These are scanned images of Church of England Marriage Licence Bonds, from bonds held at the Norfolk Record Office. They are arranged by court, then by year.
• Family Search: Norfolk Nonconformist Records
  These are scanned images of Nonconformist registers, from registers held at the Norfolk Record Office. They are arranged by circuit or by denomination.
• IGI Batch Numbers for Norfolk
  These batch numbers are needed in order to limit IGI searches to a particular parish. You can select the correct batch number and then search the IGI at Family Search.

These sites list what records are available, but the records themselves are not online.

• Norfolk Record Office: List of Parish Registers and Transcripts
  This lists the NRO's holdings of original Church of England parish registers, Archdeacons' and Bishop's transcripts, published and unpublished transcripts and indexes.
• Norfolk Record Office: List of Free Church Registers and Related Records
  This lists the NRO's holdings of Protestant Free or Nonconformist church registers and records of birth/baptism, membership and death/burial. They are non-Anglican records.
• The Society of Genealogists holds copies of many Norfolk registers and transcriptions.
• NBI: National Burial Index: Norfolk Coverage
  This lists the Church of England, Nonconformist, and civil burial and cemetery registers for Norfolk, with the dates.
• See also Norfolk Church Records.

Civil Registration

• Search FreeBMD
  This project is to transcribe the Civil Registration indexes of births, marriages and deaths for England and Wales. The scans of the original index pages are online.
• See also Norfolk Civil Registration.

Description and Travel

• Picture Norfolk
  Norfolk Library and Information Service. Thousands of pictures of Norfolk.
• Tour Norfolk: Places in Norfolk
  This has short descriptions and pictures of many places, churches, etc.
• Most villages have a village sign, often showing some aspect of the history of the village.
  - Village Signs of Norfolk This is a link to an archived copy.
  - Village Signs of Norfolk This is a link to an archived copy.
• Old Photographs of Norfolk (Fenprint)
• Old Photographs of Norfolk (Frith)
• Norfolk Mills
• Norfolk Public Houses
• See also Norfolk Description and Travel.

Directories

• Most parishes have transcriptions from White's Directories of Norfolk for 1845 and/or 1883.
   
• 1831: Lewis's Topographical Dictionary of England
       Description and complete transcription
       Transcription of the Norfolk parishes
• 1836: White's Directory of Norfolk
• 1845: White's Directory of Norfolk
• 1854: White's Directory of Norfolk
• 1864: White's Directory of Norfolk
• 1865: Kelly's Post Office Directory of Norfolk and Suffolk
• Norfolk Sources
  Directories from before 1851 to after 1925.
• Historical Directories
  Norfolk Directories from 1839 to 1912.
• See also Norfolk Directories.

Land and Property

• British Listed Buildings in Norfolk - then select by parish.
  Description, location, maps, etc.
• See also Norfolk Land and Property.

Maps

• Historical Maps of Norfolk Places (Old-Maps - Landmark Information Group)
  Online Ordnance Survey Maps, from 1846 to 1899, for individual towns and parishes.
  Search for the parishes you want to see.
• Norfolk Record Office Map of Norfolk Parishes.
  The Norfolk Record Office (NRO) publishes a map of Norfolk, showing all parishes. You will need to search for your parish, though the image is in PDF format and can be enlarged for easier viewing. (The image is 6mb).
• See also Norfolk Maps

Military Records

• Rolls of Honour for Norfolk parishes
• Rolls of Honour for Breckland parishes
• Roll of Honour Searchable Database for Norfolk and Suffolk (Archant)
• War Memorials (Imperial War Museum)
• War Memorials (War Memorials Online)
• Commonwealth War Graves Commission
• The War Graves Photographic Project
• See also Norfolk Military Records

Poorhouses, Poor Law, etc

• Norfolk Poor Law Unions
• The Workhouse
  Covering England, Wales, Scotland and Ireland, with history, locations, pictures, etc.

Voting Registers

Voting registers produced by different printers may contain different information, such as the spellings of names.

1734: Norfolk

The poll for the knights of the shire for the county of Norfolk, 22 May 1734
[No printer given, 1734]      Transcription of the Poll Book

1768: Norfolk

The poll for the knights of the shire for the county of Norfolk, 23 March 1768
[Norwich, W. Chase, 1768]      Transcription of the Poll Book

1768: Norfolk

The poll for the knights of the shire for the county of Norfolk, 23 March 1768
[Norwich, J. Crouse, 1768]      Transcription of the Poll Book

1802: Norfolk

The poll for the knights of the shire for the county of Norfolk, 12-20 July 1802
[Norwich, Stevenson and Matchett, 1802]      Transcription of the Poll Book

1832: Eastern Division of Norfolk

The poll for two knights of the shire for the eastern division of the county of Norfolk, 20-21 December 1832
[Norwich, Matchett and Co, 1833]

1835: Western Division of Norfolk

The poll for two knights of the shire for the western division of the county of Norfolk, 15-16 January 1835
[Norwich, Matchett, Stevenson and Matchett, 1835]

1837: Western Division of Norfolk

The poll for two knights of the shire for the western division of the county of Norfolk, 1-2 August 1837
[Norwich, Matchett, Stevenson and Matchett, 1837]

1841: Eastern Division of Norfolk

The register of electors for the eastern division of the county of Norfolk, November 1840 to November 1841
[Norwich, J. Lemmon, 1841]

1858: Eastern Division of Norfolk

The poll for a knight of the shire for the eastern division of the county of Norfolk, 29 June 1858
[Norwich, Matchett and Stevenson, 1858]

1865: Eastern Division of Norfolk

The poll for two knights for the eastern division of the county of Norfolk, 18 July 1865
[Norwich, Matchett and Stevenson, 1865]

See also Norfolk Voting Registers.