Capel Garmon

• Yates, M. J.  and M. Jones.     Excavation and conservation at Capel Garmon chambered tomb, Betws-y-coed, Gwynedd, 1989     Archaeology in Wales, Vol. 31 (1991), p. 1-5

Ordnance Survey reference SH 815554.

"The chapel, dedicated to St. Germanus, is of very ancient foundation: the present edifice was built in 1789, near the site of a former chapel, which had fallen into decay."
[ A Topographical Dictionary of Wales, 1833 & 1849, Samuel Lewis]

The church to which Lewis refers had itself fallen into decay by 1862, and was demolished. A new building was erected, being consecrated on 11 November 1863.

The Clwyd FHS website has a photograph of the church.

Capel Garmon Church -  exterior and cemetery on the People's Collection Wales site

The church was closed some years ago; and, for ecclesiastical purposes, the parish of Capel Garmon is administered jointly with the parishes of Llanrwst and Llanddoget.

Nonconformist Churches

Nonconformist places of worship for Capel Garmon were included in the "Welsh Church Commission - County of Denbigh - The Statistics of the Nonconformist Churches for 1905" under the Civil parish of Llanrwst Rural. Details will be found on the parish page for Llanrwst.

Parish Registers

The registers have been in a poor condition for very many years, and had to be repaired after they had been deposited at the Ruthin Record Office. The church was given facsimile copies of the repaired registers.

• The following Parish Registers have been deposited at the Denbighshire Record Office, Ruthin.
  They may be viewed on microfilm at the Denbighshire and Flintshire Record Offices, and at the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth.
  These microfilms are not available elsewhere.

The Rector of Llanrwst loaned the facsimile copies of the repaired registers to the Clwyd Family History Society for transcribing.
The Society is grateful to Mr. Alun Rawson Williams, of Denbigh, for his assistance in making available to the Society transcripts which his father made in the early 1930s. Soon after he had made these transcripts, a storm blew open the door of the church vestry, and scattered some pages of the registers across the open countryside. Some were recovered, but many were lost. The Society was therefore fortunate to have these transcripts, which are the only extant copies of many pages of the registers. The entries for 1696 were taken from the only early Bishop's Transcripts to have survived.

• Clwyd FHS has published full transcriptions of the registers (complete with indexes) for the following years :

Bishop's Transcripts

• Bishop's Transcripts for the years shown below have been deposited in the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth.
  Around the year 1951, most of the Bishop's Transcripts which had been deposited at that time were microfilmed by The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints; and the films are available on request at Family History Centres of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.
  The films may also be viewed at the Denbighshire and Flintshire Record Offices, and at the National Library of Wales.
  In general, the Bishop's Transcripts are less complete than the parish registers.

I.G.I.

• There are no official I.G.I. entries for the parish church of Capel Garmon .

When Civil Registration was introduced (on 1 July 1837), the chapelry of Capel Garmon was assigned to the Llanrwst Registration District; which was co-extensive with the Llanrwst poor law Union.

In the GRO indexes to civil registration, entries for Capel Garmon are in the format :

• Years 1837 - 1851: Llanrwst XXVII. nnn
• Years 1851 - 1930: Llanrwst 11b. nnn

(GRO index references have no relevance at the local Superintendent Registrar's Office)

Capel Garmon - on wikipedia

Various landscapes on the People's Collection Wales site

Houses, shop, church and a street; John Thomas poster outside shop on the People's Collection Wales site

• Geograph
• Flickr

The transcription of the section for this parish from the National Gazetteer (1868), provided by Colin Hinson.

• Ask for a calculation of the distance from Capel Garmon to another place.

"North-East Wales Churches and Ancient Parish Boundaries" produced by Clwyd Record Office in 1994, published by Genuki with the permission of Flintshire Record Office and Denbighshire Archives

Kain, R.J.P., Oliver, R.R., Historic Parishes of England and Wales: an Electronic Map of Boundaries before 1850 with a Gazetteer and Metadata [computer file]. Colchester, Essex: History Data Service, UK Data Archive [distributor], 17 May 2001. SN: 4348.   Here is a gazetteer/finding aid plus a set of overview maps to accurately identify the position of parishes within the county.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SH815555 (Lat/Lon: 53.083528, -3.770642), Capel Garmon which are provided by:

• OpenStreetMap
• Google Maps
• StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
• OpenStreetMap Cymru (Welsh counties only)
• Bing (was Multimap)
• Old Maps Online
• National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
• Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
• Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
• GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)

• All places within the same township/parish shown on an Openstreetmap map.
• Nearby townships/parishes shown on an Openstreetmap map.
• Nearby places shown on an Openstreetmap map.

• In 1831- the population was not recorded.
• In 1901- the population was 730.
  [ Royal Commission on the Welsh Church - October 1907]

Capel Garmon School, 1916 on the People's Collection Wales site

Group portrait of women knitting next to a large spinning wheel c1875 on the People's Collection Wales site

• Archdeacon Thomas gives the area of the parish as 7992 acres.
  [ The History of the Diocese of St. Asaph , 1908-1913, Ven. D.R. Thomas]