"INSTOW (ST. JOHN THE BAPTIST), a parish, in the union of BARNSTAPLE, hundred of FREMINGTON, Braunton and N. divisions of DEVON, 3 miles (N. N. E.) from Bideford; containing 557 inhabitants. The parish is bounded on the north by the navigable river Taw, and on the west by the Torridge, and comprises by measurement 1605 acres. The village is pleasantly situated at the confluence of the rivers, and on the new road from Barnstaple to Bideford, which affords some picturesque views of the bay, with Lundy Island, and the lighthouses. . . The church is an ancient structure, in good repair. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans; and a national school is supported by subscription. Here are several springs of chalybeate water." [From Lewis' Topographical Dictionary of England (1844)]
A parish in Fremington Hundred, the Archdeaconry of Barnstaple, and the Diocese of Exeter.