Hide

St Giles in the Wood

hide
Hide

"ST. GILES-IN-THE-WOOD, or Stow St. Giles, a pleasant village and parish, 3 miles E. by S. of Great Torrington, contains 915 souls, and 3330 acres of land, including the hamlets of Kingscot, High Bullen, and Healand. A great part of the parish is in the manor of Stevenstone, which belongs to the trustees of the late Lord Rolle, who resided occasionally at Stevenstone House, . . . Stevenstone is a fine old mansion, with a deer park, and is occasionally occupied by Lady Rolle. Sir S.H. Northcote is lord of the manor of Winscot, which was held by Risdon, the antiquary. Way belongs to J.H. Furse, Esq., and other parts of the parish belong to several smaller owners. The Church was built in 1309, as a chapel to Torrington. The benefice is now a perpetual curacy, in the patronage of the incumbent of Great Torrington, and is now held by the Rev. John Francis, who has 50A. of glebe. . . . " [From White's Devonshire Directory (1850)]

A parish in Fremington Hundred, the Archdeaconry of Barnstaple, and the Diocese of Exeter.

Hide
topup

Biography

Hawker, J.M.. Sketch of Risdon. Transactions of the Devonshire Association, 1875, Vol VII, pp. 79-83. [Transcript]
Howard, Elizabeth. The Hon. Mark Rolle of Stevenstone and Bicton 1835-1907. EGH07 (2007) 130 pp.

topup

Census

Snetzler, M.F. North Devon Surname Index to the Census. Microfiche: M.F. Snetzler. [Covers 1841, 1861, 1871 and 1881 census records for this parish]

topup

Church History

Monument of Thomas Chafe in the Church of St. Giles-in-the-Heath [sic], Great Torrington. Devon Notes & Queries, vol. 1 (January 1900 to October 1901), pp. 129-131. [Transcript]

topup

Church Records

Parish Registers going back to 1556 are held in the Devon Record Office.

Transcripts of the Parish Registers going back to 1555 are held in a special collection in the Westcountry Studies Library.

The Devon FHS publishes indexes covering (as of June 2004): Marriages 1754-1837, Burials 1813-1837 - for details see their book list.

Bideford Methodist Circuit baptisms (1819 -1870) transcribed by David Carter. (Contains entries from the following parishes: Abbotsham, Allington, Alverdiscott, Alwington, Appledore, Arlington, Barnstaple, Bideford, Buckland Brewer, Bucks Mills, Burrington, Chulmleigh, Clovelly, Fremington, Frithelstock, Great Torrington, Hatherleigh, Huntshaw, Ilfracombe, Instow, Landcross, Little Torrington, Littleham, Loxhore, Marystowe, Monkleigh, Newton Tracey, Northam, Parkham, South Molton, St Giles in the Wood, Wear Giffard, Westleigh, Woolfardisworthy.)

Other churches and chapels (with pre-1840 records):

  • Wesleyan Chapel: Registers for c1819-37 - see Bideford (PRO RG 4/955)

Entered into the IGI (as of Jan 1993): Parish Church Christenings 1546-1743 and Marriages 1555-1743.

Cornwall burial index 1813-1837: St. Giles-in-the-Wood. Cornwall Family History Soc. (1996) [ISBN 1858694205]

The Deanery of Torrington - An index of baptisms, marriages and burials in the parishes of Ashreigny, Beaford, Buckland Filleigh, Dolton, Dowland, Great Torrington, Huish, Iddesleigh, Langtree, Little Torrington, Meeth, Merton, Newton St. Petrock, Peters Marland, Petrockstowe, Roborough, Shebbear, Sheepwash, St. Giles in the Wood and Winkleigh. With photographs of the churches and extracts from White's Devonshire Directory 1850. CD-ROM, Exeter, Devon FHS (2010) . [Ashreigny Bapt: 1813-1838, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Beaford Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1836, Bur: 1813-1837; Buckland Filleigh Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1836, Bur: 1813-1837; Dolton Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1838, Bur: 1813-1837; Dowland Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1840, Bur: 1742-1837; Great Torrington Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Huish Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1755-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Iddesleigh Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Langtree Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1755-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Little Torrington Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Meeth Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Merton Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Newton St. Petrock Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1755-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Peters Marland Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1836, Bur: 1813-1837; Petrockstowe Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1836, Bur: 1813-1837; Roborough Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1755-1837, Bur: 1813-1839; Shebbear Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Sheepwash Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1838, Bur: 1813-1837; St Giles in the Wood Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Winkleigh Bapt: 1813-1853, Mar: 1754-1836, Bur: 1813-1837.]

St. Giles In The Wood Wesleyan Baptisms 1841 - 1898. [Devon]: Devon Family History Society (2013).

topup

Court Records

A Trifling Offence in St Giles (1861) - Transcribed by Debbie Kennett from the North Devon Journal, 14th March 1861.

topup

Description & Travel

Section on St Giles in the Wood from Samuel Lewis: A Topographical Dictionary of England (1831), provided by Mel Lockie.

You can see pictures of St Giles in the Wood which are provided by:

topup

Directories

Transcription of the complete entries in White's Devonshire Directory of 1850 provided by William Cooke, and 1890 provided by Debbie Kennett.

Transcription provided by Val Henderson of the entry (description and names) in Morris and Co's Commercial Directory and Gazetteer of Devonshire 1870.

topup

Emigration & Immigration

Rolle, Denys. The humble petition of Denys Rolle ... settlement in East Florida. University Presses of Florida (1977) xxx, 85, 47p. [ISBN 0813004179] (Facsimile of 1765 ed.)

topup

Gazetteers

The transcription of the section for this parish from the National Gazetteer (1868), provided by Colin Hinson.

topup

Genealogy

The Online Parish Clerk scheme's representative for this parish is William Cooke. (Resources: PRs 1742-1837.)

Information about St Giles in the Wood and the Brinsmead family.

Squire Family History - website with information, including PR extracts, about the squire family of St Giles in the Wood.

Jones, Winslow. Thomas Chafe of Doddescott, in St. Giles in the Wood, Trans. Devon. Assoc. 20, 1888, pp. 398-9. [Index]

Worthy, Charles. Thomas Chafe of Doddescote, Gentleman (Brother-in-Law of Tristram Risdon). Trans. Devon Assoc., vol. XIX, (1887), pp. 530-537. [Index]

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which St Giles in the Wood has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

Cook, Julia, Turner, Sherrie and Mandley, John. St Giles Millennium Society Present St Giles 2000, St. Giles Millennium Society (2005) 86 pp. [Torrington Library]

Hoskins, W.G. St. Giles-in-the-Wood; with a sketch map and notes on some ancient farms in the neighbouring parishes. Manuscript [1950?] 38p: map. [Westcountry Studies Library - sB/St.G 3/0001/HOS]

topup

Land & Property

Land tax 1782, transcribed by William Cooke.

Lauder, Rosemary Anne. Vanished Houses of North Devon, R.A. Lauder (Printed by Penwell Ltd, Parkwood, Callington, Cornwall) (1981) 72 pp. [ISBN 0 950 792004] [Stevenstone - pp. 6-21] [Lookups]

topup

Maps

View a map of the boundaries of this town/parish.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SS533189 (Lat/Lon: 50.950813, -4.089848), St Giles in the Wood which are provided by:

topup

Military History

Memorial to the Fallen Heroes of St Giles in the Wood (1919) - Transcribed by Debbie Kennett from the North Devon Journal, 20th November 1919

topup

Names, Personal

St Giles in the Wood contributors to a 1678 brief for the rebuilding of St Paul's Cathedral.

topup

Poor Houses, Poor Law

Transcript of order for the removal of John Squire from St Giles in the Wood to Beaford (1776), provided by John Fisher.

topup

Probate Records

Transcripts of the wills of John Hackwill (1834), Francis Squire (1810), Francis Squire (1835), William Squire (1838), Lawrence Vodden (1831), Thomas Vodden (1855), and John Squire (1859), provided by John Fisher.

Summary transcript of the will of Lord Rolle (1842), provided by Elizabeth Howard.