"HARFORD is a small scattered village, in the picturesque valley of the river Erme, 2½ miles N. of Ivybridge. Its parish includes part of Ivybridge, and contains 193 souls, and about 3600 acres of land, of which 1571 acres are cultivated, and the rest open moorland, at the southern extremity of Dartmoor Forest, where the hills rise in bold disorder from the rivers and streamlets. H.B. Rivers, Esq., is lord of the manor; but the Hall and other estates belong to Sir. F.L. Rogers, Bart., and several smaller owners have estates in the parish. The Church is an ancient structure, with a tower and three bells.; and the living is a rectory, valued in K.B. at £11. 14s. 4½d., and in 1831 at £210, in the patronage of T. Saunders, Esq., and incumbency of the Rev. W.F. Saunders, B.A., who has a good modern residence, and 50A. of glebe. The tithes were commuted in 1828, for £180 per annum. The independent Chapel, the London and Bridge Inns, and one of the paper mills, at Ivybridge, are in this parish." [From White's Devonshire Directory (1850)]
A parish in Ermington Hundred, the Archdeaconry of Totnes, and the Diocese of Exeter. Regarded as part of both the South Hams and the Dartmoor area.
Peskett: Ivybridge was an ancient village, with a chapel of ease dependent on Cornwood, it was later created as a modern parish incorporating parts of Cornwood, Ermington, Harford and Ugborough.