Devon Online Parish Clerks
- Organisation - General
- Organisation - OPCs using web sites
- Organisation - OPCs using email
- New Volunteers
- Devon Parish Listing
- Online Parish Clerks - Map of Coverage
This page is intended for people who are - or who are interested in becoming - involved in the running of GENUKI/Devon's Online Parish Clerks scheme. Readers who merely wish to learn whether there is an Online Parish Clerk who might be able to help them in their research related to a particular Devon parish should skip to the Devon Parish Listing below. If they are having difficulty contacting a particular Online Parish Clerk, they should contact the co-ordinator of the Devon Online Parish Clerk scheme, Deborah O'Brien.
The concept of an Online Parish Clerk (OPC), which originated in discussion on the CORNISH-L mailing list, involves identifying volunteers, one or more per Parish, who will act as a focus for gathering together transcriptions and name indexes related to that Parish (which are not already readily available elsewhere). The notion of Online Parish Clerks should in no way be confused with that of the official (i.e. Parish Council-appointed) Parish Clerks. All OPCs are unpaid volunteers who are willing to assist others in their genealogical research. (A listing of the various Online Parish Clerk schemes can be found here.)
For the Devon Online Parish Clerk scheme, submissions of indexes or transcriptions to an Online Parish Clerk should ideally cover one or (preferably) more complete pages of Parish registers, census records, land tax assessments, tithe apportionments, etc., rather than just name-specific extracts from such sources. The Online Parish Clerk then provides a lookup service, and/or makes this material available Online.
The term OPC as used here, refers to a repositor of genealogically related materials such as (but not limited to) Church register transcripts, land tax assessments and census information, and the OPC should in no way be confused with the County Council appointed Parish Clerks. All OPCs are unpaid volunteers who are willing to assist others in their genealogical research.
(The idea of a One-Place Studies (OPS) scheme was initiated independently, and somewhat earlier than that of Online Parish Clerks, by John Dowding and Colin Mills. By analogy to the idea of a One-Name Study, a One-Place Study scheme involves volunteer(s) who are working actively to compile or produce complete transcriptions or name indexes of all the major extant sets of pre-1900 primary records of genealogical or historical relevance for particular places, such as a parish, village or hamlet. An OPS scheme can in fact be regarded as a variant or extension of the OPC scheme. The Register of One Place Studies is a listing of OPS schemes in England and elsewhere which contains a small number of Devon entries.
The present page provides below a listing of all the Devon parishes for which there is an Online Parish Clerk, giving links relevant GENUKI/Devon parish page in which details of the Clerk can be found, under "Genealogy".
- Each Online Parish Clerk will collect copies of original records, or indexes or transcriptions of such records, relating to his/her particular Parish. They will undertake to make information from any suitable material that is submitted to them, or any material they care to obtain or produce themselves for the scheme, freely available, and will attempt to prevent or at least discourage any commercial misuse of this information. However, they will not provide a general lookup service from sources that are readily available such as the National Burial Index (NBI), or from indexes published by FHSs, especially where such lookups might harm a society's publication sales, unless prior approval has been obtained.
- Anyone submitting material to an Online Parish Clerk is expected to take responsibility for ensuring that any relevant copyright or other permissions have been obtained. The Devon Record Office will provide advice on this matter, on a case by case basis, regarding material that they hold. However, in general there is no need to seek such prior permission to transcribe or index material held by the Public Record Office - see their rules concerning copyright (section 5 in particular).
- Each Online Parish Clerk will maintain records identifying the original source of any information that has been produced by or submitted to them, and the name and email address of the relevant submitter. However the latter details will not be made public, without the prior permission of the submitter.
- Since this project aims to take advantage of material that has already been gathered as well as newly produced material, no strict rules are laid down for the formats of indexes or transcriptions, either those provided by submitters, or those compiled and made available by Online Parish Clerks based on such submissions. Nevertheless, it would be advantageous if well-established standards could be adhered to where feasible. In particular, it is recommended that Parish register transcriptions adhere to the standards used by the FreeREG project, and census transcriptions to those used in the Devon 1891 census project.
- If at all possible each Online Parish Clerk should endeavour to obtain submissions of, or to compile from multiple submissions, indexes or transcriptions which relate to at least a significant, if not a complete, set of consecutive entire pages from the original information resource (Parish register, Bishop's Transcript, tithe apportionment listing, diary, or whatever). Any such indexes or transcriptions that are produced in machine readable form should be made available to GENUKI, since this is an archived and searchable virtual library, the continued availability and existence of which does not depend on any single individual.
- Note that GENUKI does not in general hold secondary material resulting from genealogists' ongoing research into individual families, such as IGI/Family search extracts, GEDCOM files, etc. - many other Internet-based services exist for this purpose. Nevertheless, individual Online Parish Clerks can if they so wish have a policy of accepting and making available such material related to individual families in their Parish.
- Online Parish Clerks who have the necessary facilities are encouraged to maintain a web page that provides details of their available indexes, transcriptions and other material, and if they are willing to do lookups, of the types of lookups they are prepared to do, with the email address to which requests should be sent.
- No particular format is specified for such OPC web pages, but they should supplement rather overlap in content with the corresponding GENUKI/Devon Parish page, and should have prominent links to the Parish page, and also to this page describing the overall Devon OPC scheme, i.e.
- OPC web pages can also, if so wished, be used to provide Online access to the material that has been produced or collected, at least until such material has been passed to GENUKI.
- Each OPC web page will be linked to from the corresponding GENUKI Parish page, from under the topic heading "Genealogy".
- Online Parish Clerks who do not provide an OPC web page should instead provide up to date summary information regarding their available material, and details of the email-based lookup service that they offer, to the OPC scheme co-ordinator.
- This information will be incorporated, together with their address details, in the appropriate GENUKI/Devon Parish page, under the topic heading "Geneology".
- Such OPCs are also encouraged to produce or obtain machine-readable versions of their information resources, not least so that resources which are suitable for GENUKI can be made available Online on a permanent basis, and thus the burden of responding to emailed lookup requests reduced.
Volunteers who are interested in becoming Online Parish Clerks for Devon, and/or in undertaking a One-Place Study for all or part of a Devon Parish, are asked to contact Deborah O'Brien who is kindly acting as co-ordinator of the Devon Online Parish Clerk scheme and assisting in ensuring that there is proper coverage of the results of both schemes in GENUKI/Devon.
At time of writing some 92 volunteers are on board, covering 193 Devon parishes. The listing below makes it evident which parishes are still lacking volunteers.
In the following list of all Devon's (ancient) parishes, links are provided to the pages for those parishes for which there is an Online Parish Clerk already in place. The relevant information can be found under "Genealogy" on such Parish pages.
Abbots Bickington, Abbotsham, Abbotskerswell, Alphington, Alverdiscott, Alwington, Arlington, Ashburton, Ashbury, Ashcombe, Ashford, Ashprington, Ashreigney, Ashton, Ashwater, Atherington, Aveton Gifford, Awliscombe, Axminster, Axmouth, Aylesbeare, Bampton, Barnstaple, Beaford, Beaworthy, Belstone, Bere Ferrers, Berry Pomeroy, Berrynarbor, Bickington, Bickleigh (near Plymouth), Bickleigh (near Tiverton), Bicton, Bideford, Bigbury, Bishops Nympton, Bishops Tawton, Bishopsteignton, Bittadon, Black Torrington, Blackawton, Blackborough, Bondleigh, Bovey Tracey, Bow, Bradford, Bradninch, Bradstone, Bradworthy, Brampford Speke, Branscombe, Bratton Clovelly, Bratton Fleming, Braunton, Brendon, Brentor, Bridestowe, Bridford, Bridgerule, Brixham All Saints, Brixham St Mary, Brixton, Broad Nymet, Broadclyst, Broadhembury, Broadhempston, Broadwoodkelly , Broadwoodwidger, Brushford, Buckerell, Buckfastleigh, Buckland Brewer, Buckland Filleigh, Buckland in the Moor, Buckland Monachorum, Buckland Tout Saints, Bulkworthy, Burlescombe, Burrington, Butterleigh, Cadbury, Cadeleigh, Calverleigh, Chagford, Challacombe, Chardstock, Charles (North Devon), Charleton, Chawleigh, Cheldon, Cheriton Bishop, Cheriton Fitzpaine, Chittlehampton, Chivelstone, Christow, Chudleigh, Chulmleigh, Churchstanton, Churchstow, Churston Ferrers, Clannaborough, Clawton, Clayhanger, Clayhidon, Clovelly, Clyst Honiton, Clyst Hydon, Clyst St George, Clyst St Lawrence, Clyst St Mary, Cockington, Coffinswell, Colaton Raleigh, Coldridge, Colebrooke, Colyton, Combe Martin, Combe Raleigh, Combeinteignhead, Combpyne, Cookbury, Cornwood, Cornworthy, Coryton, Cotleigh, Countisbury, Creacombe, Crediton, Cruwys Morchard, Cullompton, Culmstock, Dalwood, Dartington, Dartmouth St Petrox, Dartmouth St Saviour, Dartmouth Townstall, Dawlish, Dean Prior, Denbury, Diptford, Dittisham, Dodbrooke, Doddiscombsleigh, Dolton, Dotton, Dowland, Down St Mary, Drewsteignton, Dunchideock, Dunkeswell, Dunsford, Dunterton, East Allington, East Anstey, East Buckland, East Budleigh, East Down, East Ogwell, East Portlemouth, East Putford, East Stonehouse, East Teignmouth, East Worlington, Egg Buckland, Eggesford, Ermington, Exbourne, Exeter: Allhallows Goldsmith St., Exeter: Allhallows on the Wall, Exeter: Bedford Precinct, Exeter: Cathedral, Exeter: Heavitree, Exeter: Holy Trinity, Exeter: St David, Exeter: St Edmund, Exeter: St George, Exeter: St John, Exeter: St Kerrian, Exeter: St Lawrence, Exeter: St Leonard, Exeter: St Martin, Exeter: St Mary Arches, Exeter: St Mary Major, Exeter: St Mary Steps, Exeter: St Olave, Exeter: St Pancras, Exeter: St Paul, Exeter: St Petrock, Exeter: St Sidwell, Exeter: St Stephen, Exeter: St Thomas the Apostle, Exminster, Farringdon, Farway, Feniton, Filleigh, Fremington, Frithelstock, George Nympton, Georgeham, Germansweek, Gidleigh, Gittisham, Goodleigh, Great Torrington, Haccombe, Halberton, Halwell, Halwill, Harberton, Harford, Harpford, Hartland, Hatherleigh, Heanton Punchardon, Hemyock, Hennock, High Bickington, High Bray, Highampton, Highley St Mary, Highweek, Hittisleigh, Hockworthy, Holbeton, Holcombe Burnell, Holcombe Rogus, Hollacombe, Holne, Holsworthy, Honeychurch, Honiton, Horwood, Huish, Huntsham, Huntshaw, Huxham, Iddesleigh, Ide, Ideford, Ilfracombe, Ilsington, Instow, Inwardleigh, Ipplepen, Jacobstowe, Kelly, Kenn, Kennerleigh, Kentisbeare, Kentisbury, Kenton, Kilmington, Kings Nympton, Kingsbridge, Kingskerswell, Kingsteignton, Kingston, Kingswear, Knowstone, Lamerton, Landcross, Landkey, Langtree, Lapford, Lew Trenchard, Lifton, Little Torrington, Littleham (near Bideford), Littleham (near Exmouth), Littlehempston, Loddiswell, Loxbeare, Loxhore, Luffincott, Lundy, Luppitt, Lustleigh, Lydford, Lympstone, Lynton, Malborough, Mamhead, Manaton, Mariansleigh, Marldon, Martinhoe, Marwood, Mary Tavy, Marystowe, Meavy, Meeth, Membury, Merton, Meshaw, Milton Abbot, Milton Damerel, Modbury, Molland, Monkleigh, Monkokehampton, Monkton, Morchard Bishop, Morebath, Moreleigh, Moretonhampstead, Mortehoe, Musbury, Netherexe, Newton Ferrers, Newton Poppleford, Newton St Cyres, Newton St Petrock, Newton Tracey, North Bovey, North Huish, North Lew, North Molton, North Petherwin, North Tawton, Northam, Northleigh, Nymet Rowland, Oakford, Offwell, Okehampton, Otterton, Ottery St Mary, Paignton, Pancrasweek, Parkham, Parracombe, Payhembury, Pennycross, Peter Tavy, Peters Marland, Petrockstowe, Pilton, Pinhoe, Plymouth: Charles the Martyr, Plymouth: St Andrew, Plympton St Mary, Plympton St Maurice, Plymstock, Plymtree, Poltimore, Poughill, Powderham, Puddington, Pyworthy, Rackenford, Rattery, Revelstoke, Rewe, Ringmore, Roborough (North Devon), Rockbeare, Romansleigh, Rose Ash, Rousdon, Salcombe Regis, Sampford Courtenay, Sampford Peverell, Sampford Spiney, Sandford, Satterleigh, Seaton and Beer, Shaldon, Shaugh Prior, Shebbear, Sheepstor, Sheepwash, Sheldon, Sherford, Shillingford St George, Shirwell, Shobrooke, Shute, Sidbury, Sidmouth, Silverton, Slapton, Sourton, South Brent, South Huish, South Milton, South Molton, South Pool, South Tawton, Southleigh, Sowton, Spreyton, St Budeaux, St Giles in the Wood, St Giles in the Heath, St Marychurch, Staverton, Stockland, Stockleigh English, Stockleigh Pomeroy, Stoke Canon, Stoke Damerel, Stoke Fleming, Stoke Gabriel, Stoke Rivers, Stokeinteignhead, Stokenham, Stoodleigh, Stowford, Sutcombe, Swimbridge, Sydenham Damerel, Talaton, Tamerton Foliot, Tavistock, Tawstock, Tedburn St Mary, Teigngrace, Templeton, Tetcott, Thelbridge, Thornbury, Thorncombe, Thorverton, Throwleigh, Thrushelton, Thurlestone, Tiverton, Topsham, Torbryan, Tormoham, Totnes, Trentishoe, Trusham, Twitchen, Uffculme, Ugborough, Uplowman, Uplyme, Upottery, Upton Hellions, Upton Pyne, Venn Ottery, Virginstow, Walkhampton, Warkleigh, Washfield, Washford Pyne, Weare Giffard, Welcombe, Wembury, Wembworthy, Werrington, West Alvington, West Anstey, West Buckland, West Down, West Ogwell, West Putford, West Teignmouth, West Worlington, Westleigh (near Bideford), Whimple, Whitchurch, Whitestone, Widecombe in the Moor, Widworthy, Willand, Winkleigh, Witheridge, Withycombe Raleigh, Wolborough, Woodbury, Woodland, Woodleigh, Woolfardisworthy (East), Woolfardisworthy (West), Yarcombe, Yarnscombe, Yealmpton, Zeal Monachorum.